Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | July 16, 2017

A Year’s sketches

I was challenged to do a still life and though I see heaps of things that need improving, I’m pleased with the result.

I drew this at night with a florescent globe above/behind my head.

 

 

 

 

 

so I tackled another, of a bowl the following morning with the sun behind my shoulder.  Again, there are things to learn from this.  tones, directions of movement.

 

 

 

 

 

I forgot to note where I found this sketch.  I like to credit the originator but can’t at the moment. I know I put more colour into it.

Uhmm.. only when it’s done and posted do I notice mistakes.  A glaring one is the man’s leg walking on the wall side.  Just another learning curve.

Responses

  1. Your still life sketches are great.
    Often, after I have just published a blog post, do I notice something wrong. Or it is in a photo on the computer screen that I see a mistake in the stitching. Strange isn’t it?

    • Queenie sometimes I’ get to a point in stitching when I’m just keen to finish and miss something. Maybe that happened here.

  2. The fellow’s leg looks pretty good to me! Michael Connelly is a favourite author here too.

    • Oh, MA, his leg’s fine but he shouldn’t be walking sideways on a wall. LOL Maybe he’s jumping for joy???

  3. It’s too small for me to see the man’s leg, so I can safely say I see no mistakes! I like your practice sketches with still life. Again, I’d have to photograph it to get anything recognizable!

  4. I assume you arranged the sill lifes before sketching them. Well done, Maureen!


Leave a Reply

Categories

trishburr.wordpress.com/

Insight into my work and inspirations

Patty Anne - Art

My Watercolor Journey

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

LucyAnn &Luna craft

crafting,dachshunds including other bits & bobs

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

