Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | June 1, 2017

A sketch a day

I  discovered one of the missing sketches.

Egrets.  I used masking fluid on the narrow sections of the birds – Bills, legs, long feathers and the snow dots.  Then I painted around the negative parts with black and grey watercolour paints.

The snow was easy to rub off but the legs were more difficult, seeing that they are so narrow.

 

 

 

 

 

 

This week I coloured a sketch of Pooh Bear and friends, playing “Pooh sticks”, which is a game where everyone tosses a stick into the river, then runs to the other side to see who’s stick is first to arrive.

Playing Pooh sticks

The books about Pooh were written by A.A. Milne and illustrated by Ernest H. Shepherd and were a great joy to my children.

The characters here are Eyeore, hiding his head, Christopher Robin, Tigger, Kanga, Winnie the Pooh, Piglet and Rabbit.

the drawing is 12″ x 10″ and I used Caran d’ Ache watercolour pencils.

Responses

  1. Aww love the pooh sticks Maureen 🙂 x

    • Great stories of Pooh Barbara- glad you enjoyed this.

  2. The egrets sketch is fantastic.
    Who can but love Winnie the Pooh and friends? I would have loved to play Pooh sticks with them, but like your children enjoyed reading about their game.

  3. I’m pleased you liked the egrets Queenie. I recall our family played Pooh-stitcks while their dad fished in the stream.

  4. What wonderful sketches. The egrets sound complicated, but they are definitely gorgeous, and I really like the Christopher Robin drawing – I love the Pooh books.

    • Thank you Susan.
      The bird legs were the only fiddly parts. sooo skinny.


Leave a Reply

Categories

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

LucyAnn &Luna craft

crafting,dachshunds including other bits & bobs

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

Welcome to My Blog

My Hobby Pursuits...

In the Ever After

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

