Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | May 25, 2017

A year of stitches

I’m now on my 4th hoop of stitches and a bonus for me is that I am using a UFO from years ago.  I must have had my DDs help to paint cloth and stitched a door and that’s as far as I got with the project.

So far I’ve made some flowers for the garden.

Daisies… Detached Chain stitches

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Roses and a shrub.  not sure if flowers will be added or not.  Hand dyed variegated threads.
Colonial knots and Fly stitch

 

 

 

 

 

 

Iris and Woven Wheel flowers made with Edmar boucle and silk ribbon.  The Running stitched pavers were made with DMC.

 

 

 

 

Top left wall.  The yellow flowers were stitched when the door was worked on but I’ve forgotten what I was intending to do with them.  something will come to mind. The other French Knots will be wisteria.

 

 

Hydrangea in Colonial knots and leaves DMC Buttonhole

The gate.  I added the handle, loose French Knots on the border, Japanese stitch silk ribbon for tulips and the larger flowers are loosely made Oyster stitches.

 

 

 

 

and finally I used some mohair wool lace for the crown of the tree.  I had 3 yards of this fabric given to me over 40 years ago and it was passed back and forth between the family as no one knew what to do with it.  Finally it was used in modern craftwork and CQ.  Only scraps left now.

The stitch for the tree is Couching.

Responses

  1. What floral display in your garden – you surely have green fingers!

  2. Using a UFO is always a bonus. Can’t wait to see this one in all its glory.

  3. Oh such a lovely garden! I can hardly wait to see it all together.


Leave a Reply

Categories

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

LucyAnn &Luna craft

crafting,dachshunds including other bits & bobs

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

Welcome to My Blog

My Hobby Pursuits...

In the Ever After

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

