Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | May 9, 2017

A Sketch a day- Days 70-76

Day 70, is of a woman in a magazine.  The leg seemed weird but looking harder I could imagine the sweater has covered part of the leg.  I made sure I had it right before posting here.  Fingers definitely need more practise.   The one thing I’ve found is that sketching is so relaxing I’m never frustrated, if the work doesn’t come out right.  So far I’ve not thrown any away.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Day 71. The painting  of Audrey Stevenson (as Circe) was in a National Gallery of Victoria magazine and was done by Mary Cecil Allen- so vivid and alive, I just had to try copying it.
I used Aquarelle pencils but left them dry.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Day 72. I had Lots of trouble getting the perspective right with this simple scene.  It’s a wonder the paper is still holding together.  I can assure anyone, the eraser is well worn,  I needed the aid of my DH who was a builder, to explain vanishing points etc., He would never have hired me years ago. grin…
Faber Castell pencils and black lead pencil

 

 

 

 

 

 

Day 73. Believe or not, the background is white.  This Matryoska family was fun to do.
Gel pens – metallic and glitter ones were used.

 

Day 74.  Eggs from the Betty Edwards book- Drawing from the right side of the brain.

2B black lead used.

 

 

 

 

Day 75. Visiting our DiL, I spied this metal duck ornament and just Had to take a photo so I could sketch it.  It would stand about 20″ high.

Aquarelle pencils again but wet this time.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Day 76. Stopped for a meal and saw this green bottle/artificial arrangement.  I literally did an ‘artist’s impression’ on the thick serviette as the biro refused to work.  The indents remained so I could draw them in later.

This is the result.  Aquarelle pencils.   I find I prefer them to the Faber-Castell now.

Responses

  1. I love the duck!!! She is obviously quite a character. I’ve heard that hands (and eyes) are the hardest things to draw, but don’t know for a fact.

    • I’ve found a few online lessons for sketching hands.
      When the computer isn’t working well, it’s a pain but when behaving it is such a blessing to be able to find things online.

  2. I too find it hard with perspective and ‘vanishing points’. Has it anything to do with being astigmatic?
    Although hands would be difficult to draw, there are so many hands, a baby’s chubby little fists, the wrinkled hands of Great Granny, the soiled and blistered hands of a laborer, the perfect hands of a hand model… maybe you could say the lady in your sketch suffers from rheumatism…
    The greatest thing with a sketch a day is that you find it relaxing and never get frustrated. ENJOY!

    • Hadn’t thought about shortsightedness. Perhaps I just haven’t had the need to study the details before.
      I am enjoying the new project as something good to look forward to.

  3. Again, so much variety! The toes look good on that lady, even if you have to work on fingers. Put her hands behind her and concentrate on toes. LOL I love how the whimsy of the duck ornament comes right through your drawing. You must be very pleased with that one. You are seeing things you might have missed before you began this project, aren’t you?

    • I’m happy with all the sketches. I still can’t believe they are mine LOL, and yes, I certainly see lots more around me now.


Leave a Reply

Categories

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

LucyAnn &Luna craft

crafting,dachshunds including other bits & bobs

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

Welcome to My Blog

My Hobby Pursuits...

In the Ever After

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

