Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | May 6, 2017

1 Year of Stitching- Hoop 2

The base of the tree is made with Long and short stitch; and the center of this, Satin stitch overlaid with Herringbone stitch.

From the top to bottom as viewed here are Colonial knots,
4 rows of Satin threaded Chain (from the Anchor crewel work book)
2 rows of Buttonhole fans
Lace stitch or Hollie stitch continues upward from there.

 

 

Bottom right- Back stitch-top edge
Satin stitch in checkerboard design
Center vein -Chain, followed with Needlelace which I linked around the lower edge
The middle leaf has  Whipped Chain edges with Detached Chain filling.
The last here has a Chain stitch edge, Whipped Running stitch in the center vein and Bullions.

Stems throughout are all Whipped Chain.

 

. Top leaves

The top leaves – right leaf..Buttonhole edge one side and Cross stitch the other, with Whipped Wheels in the middle.
Center leaf – Cable Chain and Whipped Fly stitch vein
left leaf from left to right – Back stitch; Chain edge; Running stitch; Coral stitch vein; Straight stitches; French Knots (at the ends of the straight ones) and Chain/Back stitches to finish off.

Top to bottom
Left side. Twisted Chain Edge, Feather stitch centre

Detached Buttonhole Bar; Alternating Chain; Straight and Cross stitches around the Wheatsheaf
Back to Back Fly stitch; Rope Edge stitch

Threaded Running stitches; Cross stitch in diamond pattern. I used to think this was Algerian stitch. 😦

Top edge- Up and Down Buttonhole; Lower edge- Whipped Chain and Straight stitches with a Buttonhole Wheel centre.

last leaf – Whipped Chain edges and Couched Trellis center.
Almost every stitch I used can be found in Sharon’s  Stitch Dictionary

Completed 2nd Hoop

 

 

 

 

Responses

  1. Yum! Your whitework is drool-worthy!
    That is just beautiful work. 🙂

    • Gee, that’s a sweet compliment. Thank you very much.

  2. What a feast of stitches! A tree is the perfect stitch sampler. By working in only one colour it is easy to see the details of each stitch. This is really a nice way of learning and showcasing TAST and other stitch challenges.
    MORE please!

    • Thank you,Queenie. I do like trees and your suggestion would be a nice way to make a reference book of them. I’ll have to put that idea on a short list.

  3. Wonderful – I love it!
    Diane

    • I’m pleased you like it, Diane

  4. Love this whitework tree!

    • Annet, thank you.

  5. This is really lovely Maureen, it reminds me of Mountmellic work 🙂 x

  6. Hi Barbara, Thanks for the compliment and you’re right; they are Mountmelllck stitches I found in a book.

  7. oooooh – I love this one!!!! So many stitches involved too – fun to have your list and then search out the stitches in the piece.

    • MA, I need a list or I tend to forget the name as I’ve done so many over the years.

  8. Oh, my, that is so beautiful! I really like the whitework, and the variety of stitches makes it a piece of art.

    • Thanks Susan. I like whitework also


Leave a Reply

Categories

LucyAnn &Luna craft

crafting,dachshunds including other bits & bobs

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

Welcome to My Blog

My Hobby Pursuits...

In the Ever After

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

KenMaursCorner

My personal slant on my attempts at creative stitching,my garden,my feline family and the odd(very odd) comment on Life in general)

