Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | May 4, 2017

A Sketch a day – days 51-59

Thankfully my camera and computer are working together again.  I sketched daily and will be posting several at a time to catch up.

Day 51. Swan and cygnets.

It’s meant to be dark and was sketched on white paper, using Mungo pastel sticks.  It was fairly easy to do but the chalk kept coming off and so, even with repeat chalking it doesn’t look as sharp as the original.  It will need enlarging to find the cygnets -that look more like ducklings.

I even tried the tip of using hairspray to hold the work but I didn’t think much of that…grin..or it’s just me.

 

 

 

 

 

Days 52-56  Sketched from a gardening book on the first day and over the next 4 days I painted them with Faber-Castell water colour pencils

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Day 57. Bird on a branch done with a HB pencil.   ALL of my pictures are drawn on white paper and any darkness is generally due to the lack of good light  (or sometimes my clumsiness, smearing while working).

Day 58. LOTS of practise needed on faces,  this poor girl had surgical removal of bone structure several times.  It was meant to be my GD, who saw it, didn’t comment but didn’t throw rocks at me either.  She’s a kind girl.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Day 59.  at last, something nice to show.  I found this picture online and loved it.  The flower was growing from a crack in a log.

Back tomorrow with more.

Responses

  1. Lovely sketches Maureen – well done 🙂 x

    • Thank you, Barbara.

  2. Your comment on your granddaughter made me smile. You are getting so good with floral bits, I can only think that the same kind of practice with faces will make you happier, too. I could see those middle florals as embroidery designs. =)

    • Yes, I do hope to improve with faces and hadn’t given embroidery of the pots a thought.That’s not a bad idea so, Thanks Susan.

  3. I am so glad you can post your photographs again, and I think ALL your sketches are nice to look at!
    When I had art lessons in school we sometimes used charcoal to draw with and that was set with something similar to hairspray.

    • At my DDs suggestion I did try the hairspray, Queenie, but it made the work flat. Though I gave a short burst of the spray, perhaps that’s another area I need to practice with. I’m always open to suggestions.

  4. Setting drawings with hair spray – finally a use for that awful stuff!! I hate putting ‘goo’ in my hair and have been known to come straight home from the hairdresser and wash my hair. I think the floral drawings would translate into embroidery too.

    • MA, personally, I’d prefer the spray on my hair not the sketches. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

LucyAnn &Luna craft

crafting,dachshunds including other bits & bobs

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

Welcome to My Blog

My Hobby Pursuits...

In the Ever After

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

