Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | February 24, 2017

1 Year of Stitches- Days 47-50

I have begun adding more than one stitch per day as it’s growing too slowly for me.

Day 47  I added Barred Herringbone to the edge of the work.  This stitch was in Sharon Boggon’s Module 7, which can be viewed here     You will find information about the modules, of which Sharon has generously shared the first 4 free.  The cost of the remaining modules is a really modest price.

It is worth while visiting to see what is available for anyone interested in needlework.

Barred Herringbone

Barred Herringbone

Day 48    Lace stitch.  This stitch can be found at Queenie’s Needlework

Also known as 3 sided stitch, it is really meant for Pulled-work but on Aida or firm fabric it can be worked without the holes.  My example is a bit of both…firm fabric but pulled to blend in with my crazy path.

CORRECTION , Queenie has kindly set me straight on the Lace stitch as I got it totally wrong.  I’m currently working a proper one and will post it shortly.

Lace stitch

Lace stitch

Days 49 and 50.  Somebody built a house while I was not looking.

I feel the work has a bit of focus now.  Straight stitchmainly with a single variegated thread for walls and couched roofChain and Fly stitches for the tree and a little brown Buttonholing for earth. This work was done over the 2 days.

Responses

  1. The house is fantastic, I wonder who built it?
    I have not used the Barred Herringbone, it will have to be added to my stitch collection one day.
    As for the triangles, are they really Lace Stitch? The ones I have been working are joined together and alternating straight up and upside down….

  2. Thanks for the correction Queenie. So noted and will be rectified asap. :-))

    • You have made a NEW stitch! It is simply different from the Lace stitch, isn’t it? Sorry for my wagging finger!

      • Queenie, I hope you or other people always let me know when a mistake’s made. How else will I learn well. I just finished a row of lovely stitches, began a second row, a little apart and found I have, (you can laugh out loud) created Another new stitch.
        I’ll post tomorrow as my eyes need a rest. LOL

  3. very nice embroidered house. barred herringbone stitch sounds interesting.

    • Thank you jizee. The stitch is as simple as it looks.

  4. Hmmm – how come houses don’t grown here? All I ever get is dust elephants. Wonder what I’m doing wrong?

    • Hi Mary Anne, you really wouldn’t want to grow houses, as that makes more dust elephants.

  5. Looks like I missed your gorgeous cabin stitching! I like it.

  6. Thanks Susan.

  7. Wow! This is fantastic!

    • Thank you Renee, I’m happy you like it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

trishburr.wordpress.com/

Insight into my work and inspirations

Patty Anne - Art

My Watercolor Journey

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

LucyAnn &Luna craft

crafting,dachshunds including other bits & bobs

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

