Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | February 18, 2017

A sketch a day – Days 41- 47

This week has flown fast.  Sketches done daily but no time to post.

Day 41 – Eye expressions.  I’m not sure that the lesson was really meant for pairs of eyes as some pupils look in different directions.  I used a Dover publication freebie for this.  B and  2B pencils     Clicking the photos will enlarge them

Day 42.  A piece of my Grewia shrub using 2B black pencil  – on watercolour paper.  I should have used plain drawing paper to keep the lines sharp..A lesson learned.

Day 43 Sketched from a botanical book ..Mangoes Faber Castell water colour paints.

Day 44  I read about using the right side of your brain ( Dr. Betty Edwards) to improve sketching.  A method is to draw the work upside down.  I found it hard to believe this would work but tried it anyway.

I first drew it normally, then upside down.. Both sketches on one page – left.  Then I photographed the upside down part and attached it to the original photo so it can be seen here without standing on your head to compare them.Of course the larger bird is my model from an encyclopaedia.

I couldn’t believe the difference between the underfed bird and the upside down one.  I like this idea.

Day 45  From the encyclopaedia again.  Manet’s Boy Fifer, in Faber Castel pencils and Zig pen.  The deeply black coat was almost impossible to work from but I’m happy to say I managed details
Day 46 on the same page are dragonflies.  2B pencil and outlined with black Zig pen.

Responses

  1. Wow! You have been busy!
    Drawing upside down is probably a good idea as we then draw what we see and not what we think we see, if you see what I mean!
    Eyes are difficult to draw, but you have done well.

  2. grin.. I see it all.. and you are correct.
    Working from line drawings is far easier than actual eyes. It may be a while before I tackle that.

  3. Drawing upside down – who knew! It does indeed make a difference – another who knew. Your eyes turned out wonderfully – mine always ended up looking demonic – very scary.


Leave a Reply

Categories

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

LucyAnn &Luna craft

crafting,dachshunds including other bits & bobs

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

Welcome to My Blog

My Hobby Pursuits...

In the Ever After

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

