Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | February 5, 2017

1 Year of stitches – Days 34 + 35

1 Year of stitches    A group where you can do your own thing in stitches, work at your own pace and it’s free.

Day 34

Sharon Boggon posted a stitch earlier in the week, called Raised Cretan stitch No 70.  I found it very easy to do a tree trunk, using a fine variegated fancy thread for the Back stitched section and a pale blue crochet thread for the fill in section.

Day 35 – I added stitches to the above work.  Branches of Coral stitch. I’ve added 3 leaves, which I found in my Anchor Crewelwork Embroidery Stitches  book.  (now there’s a mouthful)

The right leaf is done with Satin Threaded Chain stitch.   The middle leaf  is in Romanian stitch and the left leaf was created with Knotted Satin stitch.

I have corrected my error of the left and right leaves.  they are now correct.

Sorry that I have no link for these stitches.

The Knotted satin stitch gives a wonderful raised edge to the work.

Here is my work from day one to today.  It is on a tilt so I could get all the stitches in the photo.  I hope they are viewable.

Responses

  1. Its building nicely – pleased you liked the latest stitch

    • Thank you Sharon. Please keep them coming. I just realized that I had the leaf descriptions the wrong way round. I have now amended them.

  2. I don’t think I have every used any of these stitches, There are so many I need to learn. Thanks you for adding stitches to my to-do-list!
    Your tree is really fancy and the whole piece has grown nicely.

    • Thanks Queenie. There are far more stitches coming to light since Sharon began sharing. Everyone benefits.

  3. More interesting stitches to play with and to see how they fit into the whole project is fun.

  4. So am I right in thinking the leaves in the post above are on the left of this branch? I do like the variety of leaf stitchings. You are making quite a piece with this project!

  5. Thanks Mary Anne and Susan.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

Welcome to My Blog

My Hobby Pursuits...

In the Ever After

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

KenMaursCorner

My personal slant on my attempts at creative stitching,my garden,my feline family and the odd(very odd) comment on Life in general)

Susan Hook's embroidery and crafts

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

