Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | February 2, 2017

A sketch a day – Days 32 + 33

 

Day 32.  Today I didn’t copy anything but used a wee boot vase and a flower sprig of Abelia.  If nothing else, this effort has proved I’ve a long way to go with real life objects.

I got the angle so wrong on the left one.  Had I not jerked the black ink pen and elongated the line on the toecap there’s a slight possibility it may have looked a tad better.    Looks like it is bent sideways.

I repositioned the vase; still not right but it looks a bit better. It didn’t frustrate me; it’s just another learning curve.

Day 33 – Back to copying from the book.

These three sets of sketches were all on one page,  I thought they may be more viewable separated.

Watercolour paints, 2B pencil and Zig ink pen for most of them.  I added some Mungo pastels to the green foliage of the last tree.

I had a few tips from DD Jen, on how to use heavier lines to give a 3d effect.  Getting tips from others is really great.

 

 

Responses

  1. I wonder how best to sketch real still life, how about on a sheet of glas, drawing the outlines exactly as you see them on the item you are drawing?
    However, you don’t need to cheat with glass as you are doing well by drawing directly on paper. The shoe vase is absolutely OK!

  2. Thanks Queenie for the idea.

  3. I actually thought how clever you were to draw the shoe as though it was up on its tippy toes.

    • You are a good confidence booster MA. but it really isn’t balanced on toe point.

  4. I like both the vase pictures. I see what you are saying is wrong, but I find it appealing anyway. The trees are wonderful! I especially like the bare-branched one, but I expect that’s because it appeals to my stitching brain. =)

    • I like All trees, alive,dead or skeletons of winter trees.


Leave a Reply

Categories

LucyAnn &Luna craft

crafting,dachshunds including other bits & bobs

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

Welcome to My Blog

My Hobby Pursuits...

In the Ever After

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

KenMaursCorner

My personal slant on my attempts at creative stitching,my garden,my feline family and the odd(very odd) comment on Life in general)

