Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | January 31, 2017

1 Year’s stitches – Days 26-31

Hard to believe one month is over for the year’s stitches.  Anyone can still join in as there is no commitment to daily stitching, just as you find time to do it.  It’s free to join in 1 Year’s Stitches  too.

Here are my sketches for the last few days

Day 26 -Here I added Herringbone in lime green perle 8.

 
Day 27 called for a little filler between the points = Algerian Eye using Cottage Garden thread, 2 strands

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Day 28. No idea of what multicoloured thread was used – it is a single fine strand about as thick as 2 DMC strands.  This project is ideal for using up thread oddments.  The stitch is Van Dyke stitch

Day 29, the hand dyed Brazilian thread stalk in the third picture, stands against the tree trunk and Wheatear stitch was used

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Day 30.  I began extending the crazy path with yellow cross stitches.  Don’t ask how I change tracks in mid-stride, it just happens and before I knew it, I had discarded the track for a wall of a pool.   Here I stitched Barred Chain in brown and added a Couched grey chenille (today’s freebie stitch).

Day 31 was easy as I needed only to add Running stitches to represent water, with a  single blue Rajmahal strand

Any of the highlighted links will take you to the on-growing list of Sharon Boggon’s Pintangle Stitch Dictionary

Responses

  1. I’m loving this journey that you’re on Maureen. Are the stitches chosen for you all each day, or do you decide your own selection on the day? So far, your work is as beautiful as always.
    Claire

    • Claire, the years stitches, threads, days you post are your choice. Why not check the link and read how easy it all is. I like ‘no pressure’

  2. Beautiful work Maureen 🙂 x

  3. Variegated thread is so spectacular for the Van Dyke stitch. Your collection of stitched flowers is impressive, as well as beautiful.

  4. This is coming along so beautifully! I love that you change plans in mid-flight! I tend that direction myself. =)

  5. Thank you, Barbara.
    Queenie, The Brazilian thread is certainly bright. I’ve not used van Dyke stitch for ages.
    Susan I’ve flown off again for day 33, too

  6. I love how this project is growing and that you’re not just ‘doing stitches’ but actually giving some thought into creating a picture with them. And changing tracks is quite simply you listening to your project telling you what it wants. That’s my theory and I’m stickin’ to it!

    • I like your theory Mary Anne.


Leave a Reply

Categories

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

LucyAnn &Luna craft

crafting,dachshunds including other bits & bobs

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

Welcome to My Blog

My Hobby Pursuits...

In the Ever After

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

