Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | January 21, 2017

A Sketch a day – Day 21

Day 21.  I fiddled much, trying to get a reasonable look to the foliage.  I also included a tree top, which was not in the illustration I worked to.  I’m quite happy with the result but know there is a whole lot more to learn about water paints and application.

The bit I enjoyed learning about, was the use of masking fluid.  You apply this gum type fluid to where you want to preserve certain areas.  The paint may lay on the dried fluid but when the watercolour paint is dry, the masking fluid is gently rubbed away and reveals the background colour.  In my case, the white sections of the sketch.

I did experiment on another piece of watercolour paper prior to today’s sketch.  I covered farrr too much area and so, learned just where it would work best.  You may see these on the trunk and through the foliage.

I’m really enjoying this and did not think I would.

Responses

  1. Ah, this is terrific, aren’t trees sort of amazing to draw and paint….and watercolor is a notoriously difficult medium, and here you are mastering it!

    • Ktj, I wouldn’t say I’ve mastered the art – not by a long chalk but I’m enjoying the learning.

  2. Yes, you are already making beautiful watercolors. A tree with foliage is easier than a leafless tree as you can cover up the branches, but you need those open areas. You used the masking fluid to great effect.

    • Those branches were terrible to try to cover. I think I painted them into submission by adding paint and blotting much of it out- repeatedly.
      I’ve written myself a note to leave sections out when drawing tree limbs. Easier to add later than before. many lessons being learned as I go along.

  3. I admire your watercolor sessions. You are doing great and it’s good to hear you are enjoying them more than you thought you would. 🙂 The tree is wonderful and the masking in the leaf area is perfectly done.

    • It helps that I Love trees of all kinds, so I’m not fighting the project. I hope the colour mixing and placement improves as I go along.
      The masking is an adventure, not knowing exactly how it peels back and leaves the painted bits, which can then be played with.

  4. Maureen I am enjoying both your sketches/paintings AND the year in stitches; But I have to ask: how much time do you spend each day on both elements? I started a Morning Glory flower in stacked stem stitch yesterday, and 45 minutes later I had completed only three petals!!

    • Oh drat! You would have to ask that Maureen. LOL Neither seem to take a lot of time, it’s the photography that takes hours. I blur shots, get the settings wrong far too often and it drives me nuts.

  5. So beautifully done. That was interesting about the masking fluid.

  6. I remember masking fluid from the one (and only) ill-fated attempt I made at water colour painting. I remember being amazed at how well it worked. Your tree, btw, looks great!

    • Glad you like the tree MA. Time to try painting again??


Leave a Reply

Categories

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

Welcome to My Blog

My Hobby Pursuits...

In the Ever After

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

KenMaursCorner

My personal slant on my attempts at creative stitching,my garden,my feline family and the odd(very odd) comment on Life in general)

Susan Hook's embroidery and crafts

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

