Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | January 18, 2017

Are you ready for this, Susan?

I claimed I can’t draw and decided to show you sketches I did last October while visiting my DD3, who set me up with a sheet of paper, black lead pencil and a vase of tulips.

Her instructions were ..look Only at a flower and without removing the tip of the pencil from the paper at any time and draw said flower.

…and left me to get on with sketching.

This is my first attempt.

and the vase with stems.  disgusted with my effort I gave up, took the paper home with me to see if I could improve

looking more recognizable now, even a splash of colour

better again except for the right tulip that looks squashed

and finally

Ta Da!  In this I used Faber Castell watercolour pencils,  silver gel pen and a black waterproof Zig pen.

Responses

  1. Wait, those last ones were done not looking, too? If so, I’m gobsmacked! The first two are what happens when I’m looking, LOL. Thanks for sharing that. It gives me a great idea of how things can change. Maybe I’ll take a drawing class at the rec center in the spring.

    • Susan, I did Not use the ‘no looking’ method for this vase of tulips. I threw those instructions out; never to be used again.

  2. WOW, very cool to see the timeline of your efforts….wonderful stuff!
    kaethejean

    • Thanks, Ktj.

  3. You are proof that perseverance pays off! Lovely

    • I’m beginning to enjoy the results, Maureen and even look forward to the ‘tomorrow’s

  4. Great improvement!
    Drawing without looking at the paper is hard work, and needs a lot of training I guess. With your daily effort you will soon be able to draw anything blindfolded!

    • You have a weird sense of humour, Queenie.

  5. You did all that without lifting the pencil? Oooh boy – that’s pretty darned impressive if you ask me.

    • Noooo! I definitely looked at every part of what I drew.

  6. Maureen, your last two sketches are truly impressive. I’n, not there.

    • JoWynn, it took a Lot of practise to get to the end picture.


Leave a Reply

Categories

trishburr.wordpress.com/

Insight into my work and inspirations

Patty Anne - Art

My Watercolor Journey

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

LucyAnn &Luna craft

crafting,dachshunds including other bits & bobs

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

