Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | January 18, 2017

A Sketch a day – Days 17 + 18

Day 17 -Sketched from a library book ‘Collins Need to Know – drawing and sketching’, I drew the step-by-step tree trunks with a 4HB pencil.

I didn’t like the look of the central branch and altered it on the last trunk..maybe my perspective is improving.  Yes? No?

 

Day 18 followed up with bark from 3 trees.  The colours were really close those shown in the book.  Museum Aquarelle pencils and a waterproof Zig pen were used on the bark. A very light flooding of water completed the exercise.

Responses

  1. I do like the change of the shape of the tree, but I also really like the bark on that middle one. It reminds me very much of birch trees in northern New Mexico, almost at the Colorado border. The bark bits are so interesting, especially with the coloring you added.

  2. Trees are not easy to draw! Mine often look like they have had a transplant and got a strange branch added, OR been amputated!

  3. Oh, I’ve done the odd limbs and amputations too. LOL

  4. I found a sketch!. Very good. 16 years ago I was sketching for stitching but I haven’t done any sketching since. Your sketch looks good.

    • Thanks JoWynn, I remember some of your stitch sketches. If you join TAST this year ( there’s no pressure for a finish) you could do some more stitch sketching.

  5. I embiggened the picture so I could see the detail – interesting to see the differences in the bark. I would probably just paint a tree brown and be done with it. Yeah, artist I’m not.

    • MA, many years ago my DD made me notice tree trunks are rarely brown but many shades of colours. even purple. Made me more attentive to this over the years.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

Welcome to My Blog

My Hobby Pursuits...

In the Ever After

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

KenMaursCorner

My personal slant on my attempts at creative stitching,my garden,my feline family and the odd(very odd) comment on Life in general)

Susan Hook's embroidery and crafts

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

