Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | January 7, 2017

A Years stitches – day 7

I’ve slipped down the tree trunk and begun some vegetation.  The fern is Double Cast-on using Brazilian Lola thread, No 167.  The flower is Kiko’s flower  stitch,  made with perle 5 thread and the centre is done with a fine twist cotton- 3 x 2 wrap French Knots.

The Double Cast-on can be found in a 2+ minute video, using the highlighted link above.       I used 3 long sewing needles to get a wider stem.

If necessary, for anyone interested I can post photos of the way the needles are used.

The other stitches can be found in the Pintangle Stitch Dictionary.  Just click the stitch namKiko's flower and Ferne.     A fabulous site.

Responses

  1. Gorgeous. I remember when she first introduced Kiko’s flower. I can’t say mine looked nearly as good as yours, though!

    • Susan the type of thread can often make a difference to Kiko’s stitch.

  2. Your stitches are fabulous, too, and so appropriate for the flower and fern.

    • Thank you.

  3. ooooh – pretty!! Haven’t tried the kiko stitch as yet but it’s on my list. I keep eyeing the number of needles involved and think that most likely I’d end up impaling myself somewhere along the line.

    • MA, Kiko’s stitch uses only one needle – the Double cast-on uses one but more when you need it wider.


Leave a Reply

Categories

trishburr.wordpress.com/

Insight into my work and inspirations

Patty Anne - Art

My Watercolor Journey

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

LucyAnn &Luna craft

crafting,dachshunds including other bits & bobs

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

