Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | January 2, 2017

A Year of Stitches

Well I’m off to a busy start this year.  I have joined a group for 1 Year of Stitches information is in the link.

I’m already embroidering stitches with Queenie here

I’m also starting a sketch a day-hoping to improve.

Without further ado, here is my first effort at stitching..  the bird measures 4 x 3 cm

A year of StitchesI am working with  12″ hoop on calico(muslin)

Day 1.Okay, so it doesn’t look very nice but it didn’t take more than seconds to clean up.  I used a red and a black tracing pen, that disappears at the touch of a warm to hot iron-depending on the fabric.  I used 1 strand of black sewing machine thread for Straight stitches and Fly stitches.

Day 2.  See how clean the fabric is now.  I used 2 pens, one red, one black and the brand is Pilot- FriXon.  Very fine tip too.  I added cross stitch for the wing, more straight ‘vee’stitches at the edge of the wing and tail.

The toes are bullions and the eye a French knot.

Responses

  1. Impressive new year start! Stitching your sketches will be a great way to spend the year.
    Diane

    • Thanks Diane. There will be stitches galore but not many sketches converted to stitches.

  2. Wonderful little bird! Your stitching is very expressive.

    I use Frixion pens, too. I’ve never had a problem with them. I did put a piece in the freeze once, just curious if the ink would come back. It did, but lighter, and it ironed out again. I figured that was okay, since I’m not likely to store my stitcheries any where that cold – and if it’s that cold in my house, a few lines on my stitcheries will be the least of my worries! LOL I like that if I make a mistake, I can just iron it out.

  3. Interesting comment on the FriXon pens Susan. I’ll watch for that. I’ve used other brands and found if fabric was washed before, OR, after the embroidery was applied, the marks would re-appear.

  4. The Cross stitch looks good on the wing, but I just love the chest of Fly Stitch

  5. oooh – I like this little fellow (gal?). He looks like he’s searching for that elusive worm.

    • Queenie I decided not to worry about the uneven cross stitches as the bird is so small. I needed to use the magnified lamp light to do all stitches.
      Mary Anne, not a worm..


Leave a Reply

Categories

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

Welcome to My Blog

My Hobby Pursuits...

In the Ever After

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

KenMaursCorner

My personal slant on my attempts at creative stitching,my garden,my feline family and the odd(very odd) comment on Life in general)

Susan Hook's embroidery and crafts

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

