Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | November 15, 2016

Queenie’s Sunday Stitch School

Backstitch

Backstitch

Queenie has begun her personal ‘Sunday Stitch School’   more about this here

 

The first is Stitch 1. Anundsjö   found here

I tried this on a cornflower which I traced.   My stitches were closer together than Queenie recommended but for a first try I’m happy with the result.

Anundsjö Stitch As Stitch 2 is Backstitch, I decided to use it for the flower stem. One of Queenie’s inspirations was to use a sewing machine without thread to mark a length for the stitches.  I found the machine foot pressed out most of the holes, so I repeated them and used a very fine marker on each hole.  Worked really well.  I also used Backstitch for the green leaves – freehand not traced.  By the time I reached the left set of leaves I felt I was getting neater.

Thanks for the lessons ,Queenie.

 

Responses

  1. What a fantastic ‘student’ are! Better than the ‘teacher’! The cornflowers are wonderful and the stitch absolutely PERFECT to illustrate these flowers in thread.
    I had some problems with the machine needle marked Back Stitch – my machine did not stitch evenly so the holes were spaces badly. I will try it again with another piece of fabric.
    Your leaves are nicely stitched. Carorose commented that you need a rhythm for Back Stitch and I think I can only sit for short periods and never get that rhythm.

    • Thanks Queenie but Never better than the Teacher.
      Interesting about the machine stitch length. I found the same but decided I must have pulled the cloth instead of letting it move by machine. I’ll check it again to see if it were me or the machine.
      I feel Carorose is right, as when I left the work for a short break I had to ‘begin again’ with the neatness.

  2. Really interesting, Maureen. I am not familiar with the Anundsjö stitch, so I will follow your link t find out more. After three years, I still struggle with making a neat backstitch. Yours looks very nice!

    • Hi Susan, the stitch and story behind it are both interesting and can be read about in the 2nd link above.

  3. what an excellent idea!!!!

  4. You’ve found a perfect flower to try the Anundsjö stitch Maureen.It’s so pretty.I struggle with the rhythm with the running stitches too especially while working Kantha embroidery on a saree.

    • Anita, I imagine saree fabric is more difficult than what I used, which was georgette fused to calico.

  5. the cornflower is beautiful. the back stitching is very neat for plain fabric. good work.

    • Thanks for your support and kind words, Chitra. They are appreciated.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

Welcome to My Blog

My Hobby Pursuits...

In the Ever After

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

KenMaursCorner

My personal slant on my attempts at creative stitching,my garden,my feline family and the odd(very odd) comment on Life in general)

Susan Hook's embroidery and crafts

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

