Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | September 30, 2016

No WIP

more fish

fish

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

more fish

FishAlas and alack!  There will be no more stumpwork for a while as my eyes need a rest.  I’m finding it frustrating to keep the work neat and repeated ‘frogging’ doesn’t appeal.  I’m sorry to disappoint those who have been so kind in following – It’s still my aim to complete the work.

In the meantime I’d like to share a different sort of embroidery with you.

Last year 3 of my DDs and self were invited ( along with many other groups) to create items for the Johnston Collection.

The work must relate to something in the collection and  last year our theme was based on a woodblock by Utagawa Hiroshigi .     ‘Sudden shower over Shin Ohashi’.           After the 4 month exhibition was over we were invited to show our work at Kimono House,  in Melbourne, Australia,  between 17th September and 15th October 2016.  details in the link.

We had fun making our own Sashiko  fabric for a Kimono and fish.  One day was spent wrapping the cloth and the next unwrapping, being surprised at the great patterns and rinsing out the excess dye.

We also made temari balls,  vellum lanterns and other items that decorated a room within the Johnston home.

The Kimono was the main work and it had a purpose-made macrame net joined to the hem and many fish were ‘netted’ there.

As the Johnston exhibition included something for Christmas, we made a tree of temari. There were almost 200 made and we were all happy to see the last of them.  Various thicknesses of strands were wound over polystyrene shapes but at least as many temari were wound from scratch.

I’ll gather more photos to post.

Temaritemari

 

Responses

  1. Dear Maureen and The Bond Girls,
    What an impressive collection of temari, all beautifully made and a good proof of your stamina! Kiko’s Flower Stitch looks just right here!
    That’s a good catch of beautiful fish.
    Give your eyes a good rest!
    .

    • Thank you Queenie for the compliment. I’ll pass it on the the girls.
      DD1 saw a sample of my Kiko’s stitch and said it had to be included on a temari. How good that Sharon shared that stitch with us.
      http://pintangle.com/stitch-dictionary/

  2. I do love your fish and the temari balls….awaiting all your photos, knowing that your work will be wonderful as usual!!!

    • Thank you KTJ. I hope your are feeling much better now.

  3. Dreaming about how wonderful it would have been to see this in person in situ. The world has gotten smaller in a virtual way but it still takes a day just to fly there. What we need here is a 3D simulation of that installation. 🙂
    Diane

    • That would be nice but beyond my expertise.

  4. I remember you mentioning this and sending me the link to the house, which is a fascinating place I’d like to visit. I love seeing here what you did. The idea with netting the fish is so great, and I love the temari balls.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

Welcome to My Blog

My Hobby Pursuits...

In the Ever After

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

KenMaursCorner

My personal slant on my attempts at creative stitching,my garden,my feline family and the odd(very odd) comment on Life in general)

Susan Hook's embroidery and crafts

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

