Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | September 25, 2016

WIP- Lavender

I removed the head of the lavender shown in the previous post and used felt to pad the new heads.  I used less thread and made less French Knots but I’m still not pleased with the result.

Also I haven’t done the top petals the way they were meant to be.

I personally find if I’m not happy with my work, it’s best to give it a rest as it won’t improve, so…..

this is done for now but when I complete all flowers/herbs in the book, I will begin again with this particular flower. There is an easier and more common lavender to yet make.

Responses

  1. I agree, it is good to walk away from an unfinished piece one is not pleased with. On returning, I find that I either see it in a different light and like it, or know how to improve it.
    I then had a look in the book and find that the French Lavender seems a bit too ‘fat’. The other Lavenders, page 66 and 67,are more delicate and would be much easier to enjoy making, I think.

    • My DH also had commented that the book ones were too fat.
      I agree the rest of the lavenders should be far easier to do and after viewing mine in the garden, I may play with my own stitch versions later on.

  2. Beauties 🙂 ×

  3. I can’t believe you ripped their little heads off … not sure what you’re unhappy about on this version, so it’s good you’re going to think it over and move on to another project in the meantime. Maybe they are too close in size and height – is that the way the pattern is? Leaves seem really perfect in this photo.

    • The diagram of the stitch placing just does not fit the space. These finished ones have less and yet are still crowded. The pattern is traced from the book. I like the leaves.

  4. You may not be satisfied, but I quite like them. There’s a lovely softness to them. I look forward to seeing what you work on next. You are wise to leave it a while.

  5. Thanks Susan.


Leave a Reply

Categories

trishburr.wordpress.com/

Insight into my work and inspirations

Patty Anne - Art

My Watercolor Journey

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

LucyAnn &Luna craft

crafting,dachshunds including other bits & bobs

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

