Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | September 4, 2016

WIP- Chilli Peppers

Chilli Peppers

Chilli Peppers are my 9th project from Sachiko Morimoto’s Stumpwork book.

The lovely thick stem was made with Whipped Stem stitch  – which was done with 4 DMC strands.

The flat leaf used Stem and Straight stitches.     The flower was Satin stitched over padding and the sepals were Detached Chain-or Lazy Daisy- and Straight stitches.  Stalks were also Whipped Stem but only 2 threads were needed.

The pepper sepals were Backstitch Wheel over padding.  another time I would use double the padding to raise it to the level of the red section.

I then made the applique for the peppers, using Corded Detached Buttonhole stitch.  this was then Stab stitched over the felt padded peppers. Uhhm! I didn’t use the 2 strands of DMC to do the peppers, instead I used Finca perle 8…perle 5 would have been even better.

Next up will be the Viola as I had already made, and shown,  the wired leaves.

Responses

  1. These look like a good project to occupy me as I go through rehab for my knee replacement. I have enjoyed following your progress Maureen.

    • Let me know, please, if you do take up the stumpwork Maureen. All the very best for the knee replacement. You’ll be in good company with Patti.

  2. So beautiful! Looks so real!

    • Thanks Anneliese. I don’t think they have any taste at all. grin…

  3. Yummy looking and vibrant! Please pass the guacamole.
    Diane

    • Thanks Diane. I don’t think I could do stumpwork guacamole. You will have to get your own.

  4. Here we can really enjoy the 3D look of stumpwork. The peppers do look real!

    • I find all the patterns in the book are realistic. I’m pleased you like them.

  5. That is EXACTLY what the ones I know look like in the southwestern deserts of the US. Beautifully stitched, too.

    • Kind words Susan. I’ll have to get a bigger hat if these lovely comments keep up.


Leave a Reply

Categories

LucyAnn &Luna craft

crafting,dachshunds including other bits & bobs

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

Welcome to My Blog

My Hobby Pursuits...

In the Ever After

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

KenMaursCorner

My personal slant on my attempts at creative stitching,my garden,my feline family and the odd(very odd) comment on Life in general)

