Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | August 19, 2016

WIP – Dill finished

Herb- Dill

Herb- Dill

This is the 7th project of 19 in Sachiko Morimoto’s stumpwork book and was so easy.

There are also 8 projects where flowers are made into usable items that can be used as gifts.

The only parts I had to do at this point were the French Knot flowers and the assembly of the thin wired leaf.

I had to use a little drop of glue at the wire tips and wind 2 strands of thread around the length.

See?  Easy!

 

 

Dill – Anethum graveolens.   A herb used in many ways.  In cooking in soups; with meat or fish.   The list is varied and long.. it’s even supposed to be good for indigestion

Responses

  1. This is so pretty Maureen 🙂 ×

    • Thank you Barbara. 🙂

  2. Ah, dill, the most important herb for a Swede! You have made a fantastic example of this delicious herb. This particular type, krondill, is used when cooking crayfish. I can smell the fragrance!

    • Thank you Queenie. Good instructions are a great help to getting an embroidery looking good. It’s not just a pretty book to look at.

      Well I can’t smell the Dill with the crayfish but I sure can imagine the taste of the crayfish. It must be 30+ years since we ate crayfish. Far too expensive for not much more than baby sized ones.

  3. You got a lot of depth with the colors of the French knots. I like it!

  4. Thanks Diane. There was an option to add random second colour. I wasn’t sure at first but am happy with the result.

  5. Lovely! ❤ I need to get to work on my stumpwork project…

    • Please do. I’ve become a Follower of your work

  6. You left out the part about making 500 French knots! LOL Beautiful, really lovely. I like the two-color subtle variation in the thread. How is the wired leaf attached to the piece?

  7. Susan, I use a very thick needle and poke a hole to thread the wire through, then stitch the wire underneath the cloth and bend the leaf back over this.

  8. I really like this one! Makes me wish I was still making pickles and could smell that wonderful dill as I filled the jars.

    • Mmm! Yes the spicy smell when pickling is tantalizing.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

Welcome to My Blog

My Hobby Pursuits...

In the Ever After

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

KenMaursCorner

My personal slant on my attempts at creative stitching,my garden,my feline family and the odd(very odd) comment on Life in general)

Susan Hook's embroidery and crafts

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

