Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | August 9, 2016

WIP Santolini

My latest in line of flowers from Sachiko Morimoto’s book.

I found I had not left enough space between the flower heads and thought I could fudge it by adding extra sepal leaves, lower down… YUK!!  so I undid/re-did the two lower stems.  The stitches used were Chain stitch with Backstitch overlaid.  The ‘leaves’ are Thorn-stitched.           The main stem has dark thread chain with paler back-stitching while the outer stems are colour reversed.

The flowers are done with Turkey Knot and the lower heads were clipped.

The new work I think looks better and I left the lower heads loopy.

It is optional to leave looped or cut the loops.

For sure, Turkey Knot is not meant to fall apart.  It took patience  and gentle tickling to undo the flowers.                                                                   The first photo is the right colour.  Today is overcast and the latest photo is not the same.

 

Finished flower

Finished flower

 

First try of buds

First try of buds

Responses

  1. Oh, smart decision, the final composition is much more graceful to my eye. Another one finished.

    • I’m glad you agree Diane. I’ve used the snipped variety on other items and it can look lovely.

  2. Oh, that’s gorgeous. Turkey knot is another thing I’ve never used. I’ll have to look it up. You’ve done a great job. The first was okay, but you’re right that the second one is better.

  3. Thank you Susan. A video of Turkey Knot can be found at Mary Corbet’s site.

    I used to make doll hair with this stitch.

    Most of the stitches I use in embroidery are found at Sharon Boggon’s Pintangle – just click on an alphabetical letter for each list
    http://pintangle.com/stitch-dictionary/

  4. Undoing stitches is no fun, but here the result is much better with more space between the flowers. The cut and uncut Turkey Knot stitches are perfect for these flowers.
    Isn’t it amazing how many stitches there are? I am ever so grateful to Sharon and Mary Corbet for sharing their knowledge and skill.

    • I’m also very grateful for lessons online and two of the best are Sharon and Mary
      I feel both their methods, of pictures you can study and videos to see how a person actually stitches has merits. If not for these two ladies I’d still only be using about 6 varieties of stitches.

  5. TIckling threads – now THAT conjures up an interesting mental image!! I’ve always been leery of Turkey Knot and am always afraid to clip it for fear it comes to bits. Maybe the secret is in the tickling.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

Welcome to My Blog

My Hobby Pursuits...

In the Ever After

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

KenMaursCorner

My personal slant on my attempts at creative stitching,my garden,my feline family and the odd(very odd) comment on Life in general)

Susan Hook's embroidery and crafts

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

