Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | July 31, 2016

World Embroidery Day

Today is World Embroidery Day, begun in Sweden 5 years ago and examples are posted in Groups or Guilds or on our own Blog.

Recently I purchased a Stumpwork book by Sachiko Morimoto and I made a Coriander sample and also a Nasturtium one and have just finished in time to post the photos here.  DMC threads were used in both samples.

There are more beautiful flowers in the book and I aim to stitch more of them.

My camera needs charging so the photos are not as good as I wished.

Coriander and Nasturtium

Coriander and Nasturtium

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Responses

  1. I love both samples – and the photos are perfect, I enlarge them and they show every little detail.

    • Thank you Anneliese. They are surprisingly easy and quick to make.

  2. Thank you for spreading the word and taking part in World Embroidery Day.You have made the very best of the day and the result is just beautiful. Sachiko Morimoto must be thrilled to see your flowers.

    • I goofed on the colours in my joy of just stitching and forgot to check the colour change. The top petals should have been dark to the edges, As nasturtiums come in all shades I think I could be easy on myself this time.
      I enjoyed the hermit challenge too.

  3. Both are really beautiful. I don’t do stump work, though my mother did, but I think they’d be pretty just embroidered, too. I didn’t know about World Embroidery Day. I put it in my calendar now.

    • You are right Susan, flowers would be just as lovely surface embroidered.
      Queenie Patch has the WED link on her blog.

  4. These both look amazing – this is a type of needlework that is on my list to learn. I remembered World Embroidery Day right up to THE day and then promptly forgot. Duh!! Oh well, for me every day is embroidery day.

    • I Know how much you stitch daily MA – you were probably too busy with needle and thread to consider adding the W E D Title . grin….
      I hope you’ll find time to try stumpwork.

  5. These are lovely! Thanks so much for getting in touch – you’ll be hearing from me soon.I just found out my WordPress feed has not been working, I wondered why i was missing so many posts! 😦

    • Looking forward to hearing from you Jules.


Leave a Reply

Categories

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

LucyAnn &Luna craft

crafting,dachshunds including other bits & bobs

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

Welcome to My Blog

My Hobby Pursuits...

In the Ever After

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

