Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | July 14, 2016

Crazy Quilting

This year the Southern Cross Crazies ran a Mini Round Robin to make a Pin fob, Scissor keep and Glasses case.  On return of my pieces I decided that the work by Donna and Jean was too nice to hide when making a scissor keep, so I joined the two 6″ blocks and made a book cover instead.  I think I may make samplers of embroidery to place inside the book cover.         I have yet to make the pinfob.

Fabric book cover

 

 

Work by Donna on the back cover is the goldwork umbrella- prettier than my camera shot- the 3 thread seams and lace/pearls and silk ribbon flowers.  The pink rose and leaf beads are mine and all other lovely additions are by Jean, who, knowing I loved the floral heart she added to a previous block, made one for this block.

Donna added the blue scalloped seam and the triangular patch with 2 seams and the posy of flowers.  Jean’s additions were the silk ribbon bow, clusters of tiny beads, lace motifs and bee and I filled in the remaining spaces.

Front cover

Back

Back

Responses

  1. You and your friends do such amazing stitching. Really pretty stuff – no matter how you decide to use, I’m glad to know you don’t save it for good!!!

    Diane

    • Some things need to be used and then you think more often of the friends who contributed to the work.

  2. Oh, yes, both pieces are way too pretty to hide or lose any part! I think a book cover was a wonderful plan. On the heart on the back, is the purple bullion stitches?

    • No Susan, the stitches are very tiny Cast-ons. Amazingly neat.

  3. They are all so pretty Maureen. I love your crazy quilting. 🙂 ×

    • Kind words, thank you Barbara.

  4. Donna and Jean did amazingly beautiful work! What a treasure.

    • I agree Renee.

  5. What a great use for the blocks – I agree that a book cover is the perfect way to showcase the pretty work. I double clicked to embiggen so got to see the details – so pretty!

    • I had forgotten about double clicking for a better size.

  6. Crazy quilting at its best, and you did well to turn it into a book cover where the details can be enjoyed as well as the whole design. Beautiful colours.

    • I’m glad you agree with my thoughts on keeping all the work visible. Thanks Queenie.


Leave a Reply

Categories

LucyAnn &Luna craft

crafting,dachshunds including other bits & bobs

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

Welcome to My Blog

My Hobby Pursuits...

In the Ever After

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

KenMaursCorner

My personal slant on my attempts at creative stitching,my garden,my feline family and the odd(very odd) comment on Life in general)

