Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | July 10, 2016

Something to blog about, at last.

I have not embroidered very much since the group overseas closed but I have been busy in the garden and making some toys for our latest Grand + GG children.   5 under 3yo.  It must be 15 or more years since I knitted anything.

My first toy is a Knubbelchen doll which Mary Anne posted about in her Blog  The Originator used wool for the project but suggested that cotton might be used for very young children.  The legs and arms were knotted but as the cotton was too firm to knot, I have stuffed the hands/feet a little and tied them off.  Only the head is stuffed, the body flat.   I am pleased with the result and also how the variegated wool worked itself into stripes.  Fairly even, hey?  It is longer than the woolen version.  Mine is about 33cm.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Next I made a pair of Mice.  These were so easy I made each one in only a few hours.  These are 13cm tall.  The pattern came from a Family Circle doll book I’ve owned for 30 years.  Made with 4ply knitting cotton.  I may make a similar set later that have their own sleeping bag.

A pair of Mice

 

 

 

 

 

And lastly I made 5 felt Bunnies, which are about 19cm tall.  These too, were found on Mary Anne’s Magpie’s Mumblings

Little Bunnies

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It didn’t matter that 2 have the same skirt as they will be going to different families.  The male Bunny has a grey tie-  even recalled how I knotted my own school tie.

 

Responses

  1. How lovely to read your blog and see the fantastic toys you have been making. How on earth can you complete the rabbits in just a few hours??!!
    Your grand- and greatgrand children are lucky indeed.

    • It was the Mice that only took a few hours Queenie. The Rabbits took longer as there were stitched with Tailor’s buttonhole and white on white was harder for my eyes.

  2. Delightful! The flat dollie will no doubt be a favorite in no time. I love the rabbits and bunnies, too. All look too precious to play with, but I hope they do get a bit raggedy around the edges over the years to show they have become “real.”
    Diane

    • When I saw the Knubbelchen flat doll I was smitten and just Had to make one. I agree tatted looking toys show how favoured they are.

  3. I love the little toys that you have made, they are sure to be appreciated

  4. Thanks for the visit Linda. Even if they are a ‘2 day wonder’ I still enjoyed making them.

  5. I love your adorable dolls and bunnies. You’ve even finished the all-white challenge.Good for you!

    • Thanks JoWynn.

  6. Wow. Your projects are all terrific. I love the bunnies, and that little flat star fellow is great. Tying off the hands and feet like that was a perfect solution. The little people in the middle are equally inventive. What lucky little children to receive each of these!

    • Hi Susan, Thanks for calling in and thanks for the compliment too. 🙂

  7. Looks like a bunny party out there,lol ! Love those knitted mice..

    • Hi Anita. All it lacks are Easter eggs and the party would be on.

  8. Such well-dressed bunnies! And you added embroidery to the Knuffel – what a great idea. I love the knitted mouses too – looks like a really cute pattern.

  9. Knuffel?? Yikes – I meant Knubbel – my fingers got crossed up!!

    • What’s a Knuffel between friends MA.(grin)


Leave a Reply

Categories

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

LucyAnn &Luna craft

crafting,dachshunds including other bits & bobs

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

Welcome to My Blog

My Hobby Pursuits...

In the Ever After

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

