Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | February 1, 2016

Pincushion – and a thread tip

Two photos today of the inside and outside sides.  Once I got the canvas cut and folded it was simple to stitch the corners with Long-arm Cross stitch and then around the base.  I snipped the inner corners (almost to the corner) as I felt it was a bit lumpy set to one side.

I now have to fill it firmly and add the felt base.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

 

Some time back I read a tip online for keeping long threads that were too many for a bobbin.

I thought someone may be interested to see photos of how this works.    Plaited threads.

Tie the threads (mixed or single colour threads) at the halfway point.  The threads lying across the top are my short ones which will hang outside the plait.

 

 

Divide the threads into 3 sections,  you don’t have to have an exact division.

 

 

 

 

 

Plait threads.  I had about 3″ not plaited but you can go as far as you wish.

 

 

 

Hang from the cord and when you need any thread, just gently pull it from the bottom.   It may bunch slightly while pulling but won’t tangle and the plait can be smoothed back as it was.  It’s never failed me.

It is ideal for kits of cut threads but I keep any oddments this way too.

Responses

  1. Interesting tip! Thank you

    • You are most welcome.

  2. I do like the steps you are showing of the pincushion. I like following the how-tos. That plaiting of the threads is a great idea.

    • A few tips would have been helpful to me, Susan, so I hope this helps others.

  3. Such precise work and I know it’s small!
    Diane

    • Thanks Diane. It was not as fiddly as I expected, when sewing up the corners and bottom.

  4. Wow! That was a great idea. I have plenty of stray threads that needs a ‘firm hand’; now I can control them with gentle hands!

    • I wish I could recall where the tip came from so I could credit the person.

  5. I’m enjoying seeing how you’re putting your pincushion together. I’ve never made a biscorni (u?) and have been somewhat mystified as to the mysteries of construction. Thank you for the tip re the threads too – that’s something I’m going to try….might cut down in the thread barf I mostly end up with!

    • Hi MA, have fun tidying up the oddment threads.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

Welcome to My Blog

My Hobby Pursuits...

In the Ever After

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

KenMaursCorner

My personal slant on my attempts at creative stitching,my garden,my feline family and the odd(very odd) comment on Life in general)

Susan Hook's embroidery and crafts

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

