Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | January 26, 2016

Pincushion 2

I finished the top section of the pincushion – previous blog showed the centre.  It’s been a learning curve for me, just to read the instructions.

I’ve a bad habit of skimming through instructions and with this kit I couldn’t work out what stitch or colour I was to do the borders between numbered areas.  Alas, it wasn’t until after I ‘did my own thing’ with the first green border ( I used rice stitch) that I found at the Very Last paragraph, 3rd page, it said all borders to be completed in Long-arm Cross stitch.

I had to concentrate on counting the spaces on the canvas and with more than a few lapses undid and re-did  too many.  It could be very good training for me and make my future works neater.  :-))  There is always a silver lining.

It’s not the same layout, as I found the photo of the kit and the threads when used were not alike or as bright.  The threads looked insipid, so I altered some patterns and also combination colours.  As I like green there is more of this colour used.

So here are my work and the kit pattern. I’m happy how the design worked out.

The last to do will be the sides.

 

 

Responses

  1. This is the same brand of kit that I tossed out. Found it very difficult, stitches too close and piled up. Not fun. Amazed that you powered through this one. They really are gorgeous.

    • I’m sorry you tossed the work but agree it was difficult. I knew each stitch but never used them together and counting canvas threads became harder to see. Bad eyesight?
      Hopefully the sides will prove easy to do.

  2. It’s lovely Maureen – I must find mine and show you 🙂 ×

    • Yes please! I would love to see your pincushion Barbara.

  3. Wow, that’s a lot of difference between the kit threads and the photo! I like the way it looks, and it doesn’t matter if it’s the same as the pattern. It’s pretty, and that’s what counts. I probably wouldn’t have taken out what I did to do what the pattern said. =) The colors are very pretty and soft, but so different from what one would expect from the picture!

    • I found it disappointing to see the vibrant photo colours and how the tones of threads looked inisipid when stitched up.

      If I am unhappy with the finished version, I Will stick pins in it.

      • A voodoo pin cushion? I LIKE that! It is so disappointing when a kit is not in the bright colours portrayed in the packaging. I prefer your alternative.

  4. I like that you changed up the stitching to please yourself. Sometimes kits are nice, but the colours they come in are simply not what you’d like. At least you know, despite it being a kit, there won’t be another one quite like yours.

    • Thank you.

  5. Love the beautiful counted thread patterns. And thanks for the thread tip. I’ll try it with some rayon threads. Will they be too kinky? Only one way to find out.

    • Hi JoWynn, I haven’t plaited Brazilian threads as yet, as I have them in the slot case that comes with the threads. I do have some short or odd colours of them plaited with other types of threads.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

Welcome to My Blog

My Hobby Pursuits...

In the Ever After

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

KenMaursCorner

My personal slant on my attempts at creative stitching,my garden,my feline family and the odd(very odd) comment on Life in general)

Susan Hook's embroidery and crafts

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

