Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | January 12, 2016

First 2016 project finished!

View from side

View from side

Different view of top

Different view of top

Completed

Completed

Claire gave me some good tips for adding the back fabric, (thanks Claire) for using lots of pins but I still was unsure if I could manage the narrow seam, while turning…sooo, I Googled a YouTube demo of the actual machining and turning.  Excellent – but for my next one I’ll leave a slightly wider seam.  Just in case of mishaps I machine reinforced the corners.

The pincushion needs to be Really firm, filled especially in the corners.

The centre top pic is close to real colours- except for the yellow middle, which should look like the green below.

Here’s the link I used to actually see how the back is attached to the front.  So much easier watching than reading instructions.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l79t_Q1NJiA

Responses

  1. Oh, that came out so pretty! Are you just sitting and staring at it? I would be, ’cause it’s beautiful!

    • Well Susan, I did take a good look as I was surprised I managed the turns. I’m pleased you like it. Thanks.

  2. You must be so chuffed that the Biscornu turned out so well! What delight do you have planned for your next project?

  3. Chuffed sounds right Maureen.
    Though I have that other biscornu front, I’ll leave it and work on a Dog Rose pincushion kit that’s been patiently waiting for me to open.
    I’m ashamed to say I can’t recall where or Who it came from.

  4. Such a great finish! The corners are so perfect… How big is it? I thought it was a pin cushion but it looks inviting enough to sit on.

    • I think the measurement was 5 1/2″ across, Diane.

  5. The corners are really perfect Maureen. Well done. I love the fabric painting too. With the other top where the paint ‘ran’, can you paint over it, or embroider over it? Pity to waste it. What size did you cut the square??

    • Thanks Claire, The second one won’t be wasted. Embroidering over wobbly or bled parts is great for fixing problems. It could also be re-painted.
      The working square is 6″ and the fabric square 8″.

  6. This came out beautifully. It is so perfect. ….and I didn’t expect anything else, ha! Bravo!

  7. You have more confidence in me, than I have myself Anneliese. Thank you for that.

  8. I’ve been intrigued with how biscornus actually fit together so thank you for the video link. Maybe someday I’ll be able to move thinking about making one to actually doing it!

    • And I’ll enjoy seeing what you create.

  9. Maureen, this is really good looking…did youhave any problems with getting the two healves together?

    • No bother, as I used the link above to follow the Youtube demo.

  10. Wow, Maureen. I’m blown away by your biscornu. Amazing! You’re miles ahead of me. I wouldn’t even attempt this project! Lovely!

    • It really is not as hard as it may look. The only frightening part, (for me anyway) was to attach the back but the Youtube link was so easy to follow I had no problem.

  11. Such a beautiful biscornu. It’s time for a happy dance,congratulations on the finish Maureen!

    • Thanks Anita.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

Welcome to My Blog

My Hobby Pursuits...

In the Ever After

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

KenMaursCorner

My personal slant on my attempts at creative stitching,my garden,my feline family and the odd(very odd) comment on Life in general)

Susan Hook's embroidery and crafts

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

