Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | January 10, 2016

Biscornu again

I completed the outer ring with 2 strands of variegated DMC in Chainstitch.  I also filled in any outer bare trellis bits.  It fools the eye a bit as it’s not regular.  Only one quarter should be seen at any time when the back is on and padded.

I’d far rather repair stitching than try to keep photos and text where I originally place them in WordPress.  most annoying to have them jump around.  I’ll try again.

Now the photo on the right…grrrr NO, it’s now below, and is the one I began with.

You can see that I had brushed the fabric with a little water but obviously had not ironed it dry enough.  When I painted the rose shaded tips it ran past the line.  There are 2 choices for repairing.  I can re-paint the creamy sections or I can embroider over the dye-runs.  I’ll wait until I complete the current biscornu before deciding.

Wonky lines are easily covered by embroidery stitches such as Chain, Buttonhole, Feather stitch.   You can find many tutorials for many stitches at http://inaminuteago.com/stitchindex.html

The deep yellow around the centre is the way to go when painting then bristle pushing to the outer parts with a little water to spread and tone down.  The brushes I used were Nos 1, 3 and 4 round.

Now to read up on connecting the front to back.  Fingers crossed.

Finished outline

Finished outline

Paint bleed

Paint bleed

Responses

  1. the second photo with the purple, is that going to be the back? It’s very beautiful..i love the colors and the way you shaded them. Will there be any embroidery on it?

    • Ktj, the second photo is another front gone wrong. It is the first I ever painted and the paint spread past the line because the fabric was still wet.

  2. Maureen, this looks wonderful. Its a very fine little piece of art up to now and one can very well see all the love you put into it.The colours are exquisite.
    Happy New Year to you – its never too late for this.
    And thank you for visiting my newest upload on Flickr.

    • I appreciate your words Anneliese and your New Year greetings also.
      Love your pulled and cutworks.

  3. It’s gorgeous Maureen 🙂 ×× 💕😊💕

  4. The internet seems to be doing all sorts of weird things lately. Must be something in the atmosphere. It has spit back two of my responses to your latest comments so please don’t think I’m ignoring you!

    • Grin… MA we seem to have the same bother leaving comments on each other’s blog. Who understands the vagaries of internet.
      No worries.

  5. What a beautiful design. Does the colour ‘stiffen’ the fabric? Will you be using this biscornu as a pin cushion?

    • Hi Queenie. No, the paint doesn’t stiffen the fabric. It might, if I had not blended with a little water – or used too much unwatered paint.

      I had no bother at all with the needle and threads.
      and Yes, definitely to be used with pins.


Leave a Reply

Categories

LucyAnn &Luna craft

crafting,dachshunds including other bits & bobs

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

Welcome to My Blog

My Hobby Pursuits...

In the Ever After

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

KenMaursCorner

My personal slant on my attempts at creative stitching,my garden,my feline family and the odd(very odd) comment on Life in general)

