Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | December 16, 2015

Christmas baking – long

I’ve been baking for Christmas and Boxing Day.  Our family gather on the 26th December and like others, take a plate or two of goodies.

One of the things I’m taking is almond Bread.  So easy to make, popular and so nice to eat.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I have an old fashioned slicer and the bar tin measures 13 1/4″ x 3″ wide and 2 1/2″ high on the inside.

The original recipe said after baking, wrap in a clean cloth for 5 days before cutting.  Now I am short on patience for some things and this is one.

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Recipe follows:- I’ll give the original measurements and the one I use (in brackets) to fit the above tin.

1 cup almonds with skin on…………………………(1 1/4 cups)
4 egg whites………………………………………………..(5)
2/3rds cup sugar………………………………………….(1 cup)
1 cup plain (all purpose) flour………………………(1 1/4 cups)
Slurp of vanilla essence – optional

Beat whites until stiff,  add sugar and beat very well.
Fold in flour and nuts by hand.
Pour into greased loaf tin (I line with Gladbake for easy removal )and bake in moderate oven -no more than 350F (electric oven) for 1 hour.  Keep a watch on it toward the end.
Cool on cake cooler  (I only wait until about 1/2 hour, so I don’t burn myself) and slice thinly with breadknife.  I have a bread slicer which is better and easier – close to 3 ml or 1/8th” would do.

I also turn the slicer handle faster than I guide the bread along so it does not tear.

Place on tray NOT TOUCHING and dry in a very slow oven     DO NOT OVERBAKE.  The colour is pale but not white.  grin.. the Uppercase came with the recipe.

I must have originally used smaller tins as I have a note to myself that the second measurements would make 2 tins.

When cold I wrap, about 12, in Gladwrap.  they are generally a bit curvy so I pick and choose to get as many flat in the groupings.  These store very well for months and can be refreshed in a slow oven if necessary.            Any crumbs from cutting can also be frozen for use over ice-cream.
OHH!!  I forgot to say, I do the mixing in my processor and the whites don’t bulk or stiffen like meringue but it still works as long as the sugar is well beaten.  I’m for an easy method anytime.

next up..what to do with 5 egg yolks left over.

 

Responses

  1. A nice rich brandy egg- nog maybe? I’m struggling with a Mango and Turmeric cheesecake to keep my Vegan daughter happy 😉

  2. I want some! It looks totally yummy and I love almonds, so I know I’ll like it. Put the tea on…..

    • Kettle’s on MA and the almond bread on a plate, just waiting for you.

  3. Mango and..turmeric? That sounds exotic. Don’t think there’s any brandy here- I’ll settle for a Bailey’s instead. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

Welcome to My Blog

My Hobby Pursuits...

In the Ever After

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

KenMaursCorner

My personal slant on my attempts at creative stitching,my garden,my feline family and the odd(very odd) comment on Life in general)

Susan Hook's embroidery and crafts

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

