Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | September 21, 2015

A fantastic gift from my Son.

I am forever searching, on hands and knees for sewing needles that flip, drop or just go missing.  I do not like this habit and obviously my son worried enough to make me a sweeper.  The first photo shows the underside of a Home-Trolley –  (furniture mover) bought from a hardware store.   Going by the small size I’m guessing it comes from a set of 4 pieces.

The home trolley had a little pad that DS took off and replaced with a glued and screwed a block of wood,  slanted a hole for the long dowel handle, to hold the handle in its place.
He added the wooden piece to the front too after drilling partially through with a spade bit to house the magnets flush and all the way through with a smaller drill for the two screws to hold the magnets. The magnets he added himself.   They are very strong.

I couldn’t wait to test it out and watching where they landed, dropped a few needles and hair pins on the carpet.  Voila!  In an instant I had all adhered to the magnets.  Way to go!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Responses

  1. Great to have brilliant offspring! Good for him making you something to keep you safe.
    Diane

    • Things change as we age. The offspring look after the oldies LOL

  2. Quick, get a patent! Do you know how many quilters would want one of these??? How clever he is.

    • I’m sure he’d just say ‘go for it’ if you wanted to make one.

  3. What a great idea and what a wonderful ingenious son you have Maureen…perhaps he should patent it 🙂 xx

    • I’m sure he’d be happy to share.

  4. What a fantastic gifted son – give him my compliments.

    • Thanks Anneliese, I will do that.

  5. I love his idea Maureen. It beats the hell out of my little magnetic wand. And he definitely should patent the ‘sweeper’. It would be snapped up. Perhaps a competition to find a name, prize being a ‘sweeper’. Just a thought.

    • I didn’t know magnetic wand’s were available, Claire.

  6. Great idea, what a clever son you have

    • I have to agree Linda. It’s not something I’d have thought of, being too busy seeking the dratted things in the carpet.

  7. I want one! I NEED one!!! My sewing space is carpeted (and nothing we can do about it because we’re in an apartment) and dropping a needle or pin is a lesson in frustration. You son is brilliant!!!!!

    • Go for it MA. I noted it picks up tiny bits of metallic, dust? so I brush the magnets after using it.

  8. What a fabulous idea! You’ve got a clever and wonderful son Maureen…I agree with Barbara,he should patent it… Many compliments to him!! Wish we’d lived closer, then I would have taken lessons from your son to make one for my mother 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

LucyAnn &Luna craft

crafting,dachshunds including other bits & bobs

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

Welcome to My Blog

My Hobby Pursuits...

In the Ever After

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

KenMaursCorner

My personal slant on my attempts at creative stitching,my garden,my feline family and the odd(very odd) comment on Life in general)

