Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | April 30, 2015

SCC Round Robin 2015

I’ve completed my work on Alison’s block. The first photo shows the section of butterflies – double Detached chains and Bullions and stems of Coral Knots and Detached chains.  At the base I added Straight and Fly stitches with tiny French Knots in 2mm silk ribbon.

Threads used were DMC rayons, and Cottage Garden threads-‘Dandelion’  The ribbon happened to be the same tones as the CGT.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERANext I added the Stumpwork figs, from Jane Nicholas book and my own leaves.  Beneath the figs is a DMC  Feather stitched vine with small flower buttons.

The last photo shows a seam of DMC Chain stitches with Detached chain flowers.  These are alternated with threads of CGT ‘pimpernel’ (not that it’s easy to see) and 2 Rajmahal varities.

To the right I added 2 flower motifs and silk ribbon leaves.

And here to date, is the full block with a garden theme.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAMy camera is not giving the correct colours- due I think to a dying battery..that’s my excuse and I’m sticking to it.

The colours are so vibrant and it’s a shame I can’t show the block at it’s best.  Please click on the picture as it does improve the colours.

I added a few more flower motifs to the bottom right corner to fill the space.

One more person to work on the block then it returns to Alison who will add some herself.

 

Responses

  1. I love that row of little flutter-byes. So sweet!

  2. What a lovely, lovely block! I really like your butterflies, but everything you do is so pretty.

  3. It’s lovely Maureen 🙂 x

  4. Just delightful Maureen. I love the butterflies – and the figs!

  5. Beautiful block ! Love both the figs and butterflies,they add more beauty to the block and it compliments the color scheme too..cute cage charm!

  6. Beautiful.as always Maureen

  7. Love it all Maureen. Makes me realise how much I have still to learn. Thanks for the great description. Claire

  8. Home again after a week at our DDs place, it is lovely to see the comments from my friends.
    Thank you Mary Anne, Susan, Barbara, Jules, Anita, Maureen and Claire.
    My next block to work on should be waiting for me at our post office. I’m looking forward to beginning on it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

LucyAnn &Luna craft

crafting,dachshunds including other bits & bobs

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

Welcome to My Blog

My Hobby Pursuits...

In the Ever After

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

