Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | April 11, 2015

Southern Cross Crazies RR

I am about to begin work on Alison’s CQ Round Robin block but before this I am posting the work of the previous embroideries.   This is the first Round Robin Dianne and Jean have been in and are enjoying it. OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERADianne stitched the Rose vine with silk ribbon and Fly stitch stems. The ric-rac is alternately woven with a green and  a lilac thread and French knots. The willow trunk is Chain stitched and leaves of Fly stitches. – I love trees. The seam above is Beaded Alternating Fly stitch. The next photo shows her spider and web.  Alternating Up and Down Buttonhole with Detached Chains and Chain stitch supporting her cute bird in a cage. The seam to the right is Herringboned silk ribbon.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Jean’s first photo shows her beautiful Bullions and Detached Chains.  The leaves are Fly stitched and the stem..Stem stitched.  I love the use of the matching threads for the bow.  Beads and side flowers of Straight stitch are lovely.             The seam below is of beads and tiny Straight stitched leaves. The corner section has a horseshoe caught down with green Detached Chains and Detached Chain Cast-ons.  Below is a seam of Beaded Chain stitch.   To the right Beaded Alternating Fly stitch.  French Knots, Detached chain, beads and a little heart. Lastly but not least is a heart with the Tiniest, finest, Detached Chain Cast-ons I’ve ever seen.  I needed my magnifier to make sure what I saw, was what I thought the stitch to be. Straight stitched leaves and Fly stitch twigs and beads completed the heart..

Responses

  1. Gosh Maureen. The work of Dianne and Jean is exquisite. Makes me realise how much I still have to learn.
    Claire

    • I’ve embroidered for years and still have lots of room for improvement.

  2. I’m now caught up with your blog–such beautiful examples of fine stitching!

    • Everything is finely stitched and now I have to follow on……..putting my thinking cap…….

  3. Dianne and Jean have both done beautiful work!

    • You said it MaryAnne.

  4. What a beautiful block! I don’t like spiders at all but somehow I like them on CQ. I read somewhere that it’s added for luck,is it true? I fell in love with the heart 🙂 each and every element is stitched perfectly …

  5. Anita When I first started CQ back in the mid 8os I was told that an embroidered spider is the motif for a CrazyQuilter,! We are so busy stitching that cobwebs take over our houses because we don’t do enough (any?) dusting and cleaning. It certainly applied to me!

  6. Really beautiful things, Love Dianne’s tree and Jean’s heart, especially. What lucky recipients!

  7. Thanks Anita, Maureen and Susan for visiting. It was worth the trip wasn’t it, to see such beautiful embroidery? I still have my thinking cap on to see what I can come up with.


Leave a Reply

Categories

trishburr.wordpress.com/

Insight into my work and inspirations

Patty Anne - Art

My Watercolor Journey

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

LucyAnn &Luna craft

crafting,dachshunds including other bits & bobs

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

