Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | December 3, 2014

WIPW- Hussif

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI completed the cover of my hussif-  filling in here and there.

On the right hand end I couched a fancy thread with Buttonhole stitches and was surprised how it improved the appearance.  I have forgotten the name of the stitch I used between the couching.  It is crossed and woven…below.

Since posting this, I read on Queenie’s blog, that the stitch is called..what else but ‘Woven Cross’.  I had first made this in Sharon’s stitch modules.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

 

 

Then I settled down to completing the working part of the hussif

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERASorry for the lack of quality in the photos.

On the right end there is a pocket for Sharon’s templates and/or written notes. This fabric was part of a blouse front – I left the buttons attached and embroidered around them.

There was a fold which I stitched down, for half the length with Cable Chain, creating a narrow pocket in which I could slip a short ruler .

I’ve included a pencil, tape measure, container for beads, threads and ribbons.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA I added lace and embroidered  Bullion and French knotsOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA on all additions.

The thread is CottageGarden/hellebore

Annet’s lovely gift biscornu will grace small scissors soon.

The black piece is a magnetic strip for needles in use.

If I have the hussif completed by next Wednesday it will be the second fastest project I have ever done.

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The year is quickly ending but Work In Progress Wednesdays will keep running in 2015.

A good time during holidays, to find your UFO’s and join in next year.  Here’s the link to go to.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Responses

  1. Maureen, this truly is a work of art. So beautifully done.
    Claire

    • Whoa! That was fast Claire. Thanks for liking the work.

  2. Your hussif is so beautiful! I am fascinated by the dragonfly near the cameo. What stitches did you use to create it? Perhaps I missed it in an earlier post.

    • Thank you Pat, for your kind words. I tatted the dragonfly, added it at the last part and forgot to comment on it.

  3. FANTASTIC! You are not only quick, you have created a very beautiful hussif. The stitches on the outside holds lots of eye candy. By the way the stitch you are asking about is TAST #77 Woven Cross; I have used it myself this week.
    Inside the hussif is full of handy solutions for keeping your sewing goods in good order. I love the magnetic plate for working needles.

  4. gorgeous hussif. enjoying each and every detail. Thanks for sharing.
    Chitra

  5. This is GORGEOUS.

  6. Thanks so much Chitra and Marie. I really appreciate the comments.

  7. Beautiful! I especially like the stitching around the buttons.

    • Thank you Anna. My MiL used to embroider daisies around the button holes of my children’s cardigans. Nobody else had such cardigans.
      I just borrowed her idea.

  8. Beautiful hussif, thanks for sharing as you stitched. Your finished hussif will be an handed down I hope for many generations to enjoy.

    • Thank you Debbie. That’s a lovely thought for me to hold.

  9. Your hussif is looking really good!

    • Thank you Angela.

  10. Your hussif is beautiful, fun to see my biscornu scissorfob inside! I’m sure the stitches on your hussif will inspire you if you’re working on new projects when it’s finished.

    • Thank you Annet. The biscornu will remind me of you each time I open the hussif. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

LucyAnn &Luna craft

crafting,dachshunds including other bits & bobs

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

Welcome to My Blog

My Hobby Pursuits...

In the Ever After

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

