Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | October 29, 2014

WIPW- Hussif mini challenge

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAIt has been a while since I added anything to my hussif.  My DD gave me a gift of 2 books- Crewel Twists and Crewel Intentions by Hazel Blomkamp….I just had to try a flower or two.  Don’t you just love the book titles?

 

The base of the top flowers are made using Bokara stitch with triple winds of French Knots.  I used a knitting cotton in ecru. I made the leaves with Satin stitch surrounded with double Chain stitches

The lower flowers were made with Woven Wheel and French Knots with Straight stitch leaves.  All stems are Whipped Backstitch.

Do you have unfinished projects in drawers or cupboards? Check out this link at Pintangle.   Sharon has information encouraging anyone who has unfinished projects to join in with others who are aiming to complete their work without pressure.

Responses

  1. this looks lovely – I now have stitch withdrawals

    • Thanks Sharon. I’m very happy that you like it.

  2. This is beautiful! I love the way the neutral tones showcase your stitches.
    Barbara M

  3. Beautiful! I do like the book titles – crewel is always cruel for me!

  4. very beautiful embroidery on these flowers. I want to try crewel embroidery too. so motivating. thank you for sharing it.
    Chitra

  5. Beautiful flowers!

  6. Lovely flowers, Maureen. The simple straight stitch leaves are effective, looking like serrated leaves. And I like the look of that knitting cotton you chose. Very lovely!

  7. The names of the books are definitely fun! Your flowers are stunningly gorgeous! Lovely!

  8. Many thanks to Everyone for your encouraging comments. I really appreciate the feedback.
    Some of the patterns in both books need quiet time for me to study the methods but I’m eager to try more, on some other project and in colour.

  9. As always Maureen, BEAUTIFUL work! Yes! I do love the titles of the books and the author’s play on words.

    • Thank you Maureen.

  10. Maureen, sooooo beaurtiful!!! 🙂

    • Thank you very much Masha.

  11. Beautiful, Maureen. Did you do that tatting that we have a glimpse of in top right corner? The woven wheels look great too. Claire

    • Thanks Claire. Yes the tatting is mine though I don’t make much these days- stitching seams is quicker.


Leave a Reply

Categories

LucyAnn &Luna craft

crafting,dachshunds including other bits & bobs

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

Welcome to My Blog

My Hobby Pursuits...

In the Ever After

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

KenMaursCorner

My personal slant on my attempts at creative stitching,my garden,my feline family and the odd(very odd) comment on Life in general)

