Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | September 17, 2014

TAST No.130 Lock stitch

Today I visited fatquarter’s Flickr and found Annet has added a short video of her variation on Lock stitch.  It is a good video and lovely stitch. Check it out.     I was so inspired I tried it and another version.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Annet added beads to the bottom of her sample, I added beads after, to the ones on the right side of mine.

Then I tried to alternate the stitch.  It isn’t too bad but in future I would either have a more gentle curve or keep the stitches closer.  Each set is about 3/16inch apart here.

Making a wreath with Lock stitchand lastly I decided to try for a Christmas wreath.  Easy!  I used 2 DMC strands  ( I should have checked to make sure the spaces were even between).  I changed threads for the 2nd round = 2 DMC rayon threads and made the stitches lower and higher than the first lot.

The 3rd photo shows the whipping of the 2nd round.

The last photo shows beads added later.
The pretty circle has me thinking of surrounding a shisha.

 

Don’t forget to check out Take A Stitch Tuesday if you are interested in learning how to make lots of stitches.

Responses

  1. Maureen this stitch is really pretty. I must have a try. 🙂 x

    • Thanks Barbara. The only thing to remember is how you weave the needle to make the lock. It’s an up down direction.
      Sharon’s photos are at
      http://tiny.cc/awxcmx
      I hope the Tiny works for you

  2. Thanks for linking to my video, I’m glad it inspired you. It’s good to see you used pistil stitches, great choice! I like your alternating lock stitch too, I think you get the look you want if you use perle 8 or 5. And your Christmas wreath is gorgeous, great idea to stack the lock stitches this way!

    • Thanks Annet. I could hardly wait to try your version and then play with the wreath. I will try the up and down with the 5 and 8 perles too.

  3. I read Annet’s blog post, too and was impressed and inspired by her take on the Lock Stitch. Yours are equally tempting, especially the Christmas wreath!

    • Yes, Annet’s video is worth seeing Queenie. Thanks for liking my versions too. I liked the inner shape of the circle.

  4. I always enjoy seeing what you do with the tast stitches and am never disappointed.

    • That is kind of you to say, Shirley. Thank you.

  5. Love the wreath – rally nice interpretation!

  6. Thank you Sharon :-))


Leave a Reply

Categories

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

Welcome to My Blog

My Hobby Pursuits...

In the Ever After

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

KenMaursCorner

My personal slant on my attempts at creative stitching,my garden,my feline family and the odd(very odd) comment on Life in general)

Susan Hook's embroidery and crafts

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

