Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | July 24, 2014

TAST Nos.122,123-Chained Bar and Woven Chained Bar

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERANo. 122- Chained bar, worked over knitted rayon tape with DMC  ‘metallic jewel effects’.  Sadly it moves and doesn’t look neat.  Perhaps I should have twisted the thread as I stitched.

No. 123- Woven Chained Bar.  Second attempt at this.

Again I used the knitted rayon tape as a base and hand-dyed silk thread for weaving.  My error yesterday doing this was to have the bar too deep and stitching too wide, making the chain stitches loose when weaving.  This time I placed the zig-zag points closer and 2 rows instead of 3 of the tape.  Not perfect but much better and as I like the effect, will be using it more.

For more information of Take-A-Stitch-Tuesday, please visit Sharon’s Pintangle

 

Responses

  1. I wish my chain bars looked liked yours. I’ve unpicked mine 6 times now and still it doesn’t look right.

    • It took me several goes at keeping the chains where they belonged too, Carolyn. There must be an easy way to hold them in place,

  2. Metallic flosses can be such a bear to work with. I still think the chained bar is lovely. I love the color combinations and the textures. I hope my woven chained bar attempt turns out as well as yours. 🙂

    • Thanks for the kind words Renee.

  3. Thank you for sharing your work with us. I will soon have a go at these two TAST stitches.

    • Hi Queenie, I look forward to seeing what you come up with.. always interesting.

  4. You have made an excellent job of this stitch. Hope I can start catching up with the tast soon.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Patty Anne - Art

My Watercolor Journey

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

LucyAnn &Luna craft

crafting,dachshunds including other bits & bobs

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

Welcome to My Blog

My Hobby Pursuits...

