Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | July 3, 2014

TAST No. 118- Beaded Buttonhole and No.119 Woven Trellis stitch

Here is my sample for the Beaded Buttonhole, which was quick, simple and offers ideas for various designs.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI did a short sample of this stitch on the left side.  Then I played with sloping varieties.

The longer yellow sample began while I was watching a Wimbledon tennis match (The 19 y.o Aussie, Kyrgios, beat Nadal) and I obviously got carried away and did not count spaces correctly.               I’m leaving it as a warning to myself to concentrate on one thing at a time.

I stitched one whole line and then worked backward.  I left a single Aida row between but it does not sit well.

The last version is how I meant the pattern to be and I did the second row as close to the first as possible.

I had stitched Woven Trellis back in 2010 and the link to this work is here and here

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThis work was also done for TAST 2 in 2010

DMC perle 8 green and – from memory- Sassa Lynne variegated thread for the flowers.

 

 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThis is today’s effort.  DMC Perle 5 pink and red threads. DMC 5 green, with little twist to it.

I worked into one hole for the centre pink and left the straight stitches as I like them this way.  The other pair have a small square space under the green bead.

I fancied a wreath and shortened the stitches to make berries.  No centre hole left for the first 3  and  square spaces for those on the right.  It is harder to get the needle through the bulk of threads so I found it faster and easier to keep the centre open and cover it with a bead (which I’ve forgotten to add)

Responses

  1. i like your yellow beaded buttonhole stitch. Your woven trellis remind me of a pattern on an old teacup I saw a long time ago.

  2. Beautiful samples -sweet stitching. Anneliese at anaslua2.blogspot.com

  3. Thank you Annet and Anneliese, your comments are much appreciated.

  4. NEVER watch tennis and stitch at the same time!
    I like both your old and new Trellis stitches. perfect for making flowers.

    • I surely won’t need a reminder about stitching and tennis Queenie – one mistake is enough.

  5. So many great ideas for beaded stitches. Inspiring.


Leave a Reply

Categories

LucyAnn &Luna craft

crafting,dachshunds including other bits & bobs

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

Welcome to My Blog

My Hobby Pursuits...

In the Ever After

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

KenMaursCorner

My personal slant on my attempts at creative stitching,my garden,my feline family and the odd(very odd) comment on Life in general)

