Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | June 14, 2014

Kantha project finished

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAs I had repeated the pattern on a second piece of silk I decided to use both as a cover for the Indian stitches I have learned through Anita.  First I did a Chikan embroidery SaL and recently a Kantha one.  Both are found in the sidebar of her blog.

The background is a curtaining fabric.

 

 

 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThen at the end of May, Anita posted a tutorial for Fancy Laced Running stitch and it seemed just right to add as a border.   I chose, firstly, the 7 colour threads I used in the main design but they were too bold and took the eye from the design.  I then chose just a pale lilac and pale lemon to lace the green Running Kantha .

I used a chiffon ribbon as a base, turning the corners on which I added Stacked Kantha and a few kantha stitches for the edges.   The FLRstitch was easy once I got the stitch length reasonably the same and the lacing was really fast to complete the border.

It’s not often I complete something I have stitched, so I’m really pleased not to have the work sit as another UFO.

Responses

  1. WooHoo! A finished piece and such a great way to use these pieces. I love to stitch but how many wall pieces can you hang? One of the loyal followers of TAST is always showing the decorated necklines on her tunics. I love that she wears her stitchery. I wish I had access to her tailor!

  2. Congratulations of a finished project, and WHAT a project! The book is extremely stylish and the border is the finishing touch.

  3. Maureen, your wonderful stitching looks fantastic made into a book cover and I love how you’ve made the border, it sets it off a treat 🙂 x

  4. Diane, Queenie and Barbara, I’m happy you like the result. It is now the best looking folder on my shelf. I guess I should use other Ufos to cover more folders.

    I agree, Diane, that you can only hang so much on walls.

  5. Great idea to use it as a cover! It likes pretty with that neat border.

    • Thanks Annet.

  6. Wow ! It’s so beautiful. The border has come out so well, love this corner, it looks better than your earlier attempt. You’ve made my day Maureen.

  7. Just catching up with your blog, Maureen. You’ve become a prolific blogger since finishing the major project last year. I love what you’ve done with your kantha stitching. It’s beautiful. Like you, most of my work remains unfinished–not mounted or framed or made for use.

    • Thanks JoWynn. I hope, one day, to complete a lot more UFO’s


Leave a Reply

Categories

trishburr.wordpress.com/

Insight into my work and inspirations

Patty Anne - Art

My Watercolor Journey

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

LucyAnn &Luna craft

crafting,dachshunds including other bits & bobs

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

