Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | June 2, 2014

CQJP 2014

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAFor my June block I used Sharon’s  block 30.

With a pattern already designed, it makes it so much easier to assemble everything.

I chose to embroider a blue wren this month.

Using a single DMC  thread can seem daunting but the work goes quite quickly.

The green curved line was done with Sailor’s stitch No. 56-Fly stitches were added.

The green leaf below is No. 1-Fly stitch using an irregular boucle thread.

The right side of the tree trunk was done with wrapped cord in No.110-Rope stitch.  I needed a crowbar to get the cord through the fabric and wouldn’t attempt it again.

The heart features Cross stitch and No.66, a Coral outline.

Responses

  1. That’s a very pretty block!!

  2. Absolutely wonderful Maureen. Your stitching is beautiful and the little bird is so sweet.
    I don’t know Sailor’s stitch….I will have to do some research! 🙂 x

  3. Another beautiful block! Blue wren looks so pretty,lovely dyed lace and a couple of beads adds more beauty to it. A clever idea to follow the fabric pattern and stitch a heart.

    • I’m happy you like the block Anita.

  4. Another pretty block, Maureen! O dear, sailor stitch, I never used it again after learning it. There are just too many stitches to remember!

    • Annet I used the Sailor’s stitch, on the block, the week we were given the instructions. I had to examine the block and check the stitch numbers to find what it was, when I posted the photo yesterday. LOL.

  5. looks beautiful 🙂

    • Thank you frilka. 🙂

  6. What teacher could be more proud than Sharon when she sees how her students/followers make good use of her designs and stitches.
    The Sailor stitch works well on a curved line, and of course the wren is charming.

    • ….and without Sharon’s expertise and sharing, how boring my blocks could be. Years ago I used mainly Fly, Cretan, Chevron , Feather, Chain variations and Stem.
      Thanks for visiting Queenie.

  7. Wonderful, Maureen. I’m catching up with your blog.


Leave a Reply

Categories

trishburr.wordpress.com/

Insight into my work and inspirations

Patty Anne - Art

My Watercolor Journey

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

LucyAnn &Luna craft

crafting,dachshunds including other bits & bobs

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

