Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | May 24, 2014

Kantha finished

Anita’s SaL has finished and her work can be seen in the link.  I have completed the ones I made, which are below.  Traced pattern left and printed pattern on the right.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOur last week we worked the eyes of the birds, infilled their bodies with diagonal kantha filling stitches.

I completed the dharneer sheesh black border where I omitted the bottom stitches on one.

I re-did both wheels and spokes of the traced and printed ones as I mis-read the instructions.  I also changed the colour of the traced calyx below the wheel.

After completing the coloured version I  whipped the kantha  at the bottom. It made the mustard colour stronger.

I am no expert with a camera and the photos show this lack of talent.  I find it hard to get the true thread colours.  I can be found inside, outside, under all types of lighting and never get consistent shots.  The previous lesson showing the coloured one is spot on for colour.

I was so pleased with the infilling of the body.  It looks delicate, even looks like fine quilting.  Click on the photo.

A final mention of the freezer paper for transferring a pattern to fabric.  It definitely works.  I expected my original method of Vlisofix would be good but would never use that again as it did Not completely wash out and left little marks behind.

In March 2012 Anita ran a Chikan Sal, which I enjoyed and the first photo I posted on this is here.  I saved my notes and will add them to the Kantha notes in a folder. I’ve decided to use the traced and printed kantha silks as a cover for the folder.  When done. I’ll post a photo.

Many thanks Anita for the great tutorial.  I appreciate the time and effort you put into it.

Responses

  1. Absolutely beautiful Maureen – they remind me of a pair of very glamorous earrings 🙂 x

    • Thanks Barbara. Yes, ear-rings- I’ve seen some a bit like this.

  2. Wow ! I love all the three versions,can’t pick one as a favorite.You’ve done a beautiful job.I also learnt a couple of things from your experiments along with you.Thanks for sharing them and you are always welcome dear!

    • Thank you Anita for your kind words and help. I still have lots to learn to get some of the stitches right but as stitching in this style is relaxing I should improve.
      I love what I think of as dancing ladies around the outer design.
      :-)) Maureen

  3. wow, you made 3 beautiful embroideries! Sometimes it’s difficult to make good photos, I try to make photos at different places and different camera settings.

    • Thanks Annet for the compliment and visits during the lessons. It’s much appreciated.

  4. All three are just beautiful! You should be very proud of yourself for doing such a great job…funny how changing the colors makes such a big difference in how the project looks.

    • Thank you also Wendy for your kind comments. I’m happy with what I achieved. I love the bright colours of India so I decided to go for that in the third one. It sure does change the look.

  5. Congratulations on completing three stunning pieces of embroidery!

    • Thanks for your lovely comment Queenie.

  6. This work is so beautiful and the stitching is so fine. I love the colours as well.

    • Thanks Shirley.

  7. hi maureen
    wow awesome work!i went through all of your SAL posts..i appreciate your great patience for making 3 pieces at a time..i love the left twos’ with its charming colors more than the right one,though its different in looks..all patterns are neat,perfect and well sewed..glad that i didnt miss to see your project as i got your link from anita’s comment form..Bookmarked yout site for further visits..BTW hope you would have seen my reply in ‘easy threading needle’ comment box :)..

    • Thanks so much Leela for your comment, which I appreciate. I enjoyed seeing your Kantha work also.

  8. This is wonderful 🙂
    Great job on all the three pieces.

    • Kind words, thank you. I hope many people use your link above, to view your own beautiful work.


Leave a Reply

Categories

LucyAnn &Luna craft

crafting,dachshunds including other bits & bobs

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

Welcome to My Blog

My Hobby Pursuits...

In the Ever After

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

KenMaursCorner

My personal slant on my attempts at creative stitching,my garden,my feline family and the odd(very odd) comment on Life in general)

