Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | May 13, 2014

Kantha Sal

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA I worked the Wheel and spokes but could not post as I had no internet connection.  The connection was still disabled when the next lesson was due so I finished both and here they are.

Traced version is top and printed pattern is below this.

 

The Wheel has black kantha for the centre,  yellow Paichano next, then black kantha with a paichano edge.

The spokes are made with paichano and the dots, kantha-filling .

The main ‘eye’ has been finished with paichano which is shown in the larger photos below.

 

 

 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERATraced pattern top and printed below.  You can see a big difference in the wheel, which is much better traced.  The solid print line makes the yellow too vivid.

The outlines of the ‘eyes’ have been whipped = Paichano and then filled with Dhaneer Sheesh method.  This stitch took much concentration.  I realized I had added too many patterns to the traced version. 26 a side and  20 in the lower one.  What a glutton for punishment I was.

 

 

I have begun my third attempt by tracing the pattern – using the freezer paper between the silk fabric and the paper pattern, as suggested by Queenie and Annet.  It worked perfectly and I’ll be stitching this soon.  I’m using different colours for a change.

 

 

Responses

  1. Wow! It’s so beautiful. I love both the pieces.

    • Thanks Anita.

  2. Reblogged this on KenMaursCorner and commented:
    At least this Maureen is keeping up to date with her stitching!

    • Having no internet is great for catching up with projects LOL

  3. Great work! I think both pieces are elegantly stitched; maybe I need a magnifying glass to see the differences you are talking about.
    It will be interesting to see if the freezer paper has some magic power!!!

    • Thanks Queenie. The difference that bothers me is the lower wheel where the solid black shows up in real life. It looks ‘dirty’
      The traced version is more delicate.


Leave a Reply

Categories

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

LucyAnn &Luna craft

crafting,dachshunds including other bits & bobs

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

Welcome to My Blog

My Hobby Pursuits...

In the Ever After

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

