Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | April 30, 2014

Wednesday WIP – Hussif

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA  So far I have gathered items I wish to include in my Hussif.

Fabric for needles and pins,  scissor,  tape measure,  bead holder,  pencil,  ruler,  quick-unpick,   few threads,  rings to hold threads and ribbons,  and most important to me – magnets.

I am not sure which I will use.  It may be dots or the strip but I Need something as I am always losing needles and that’s Not good.  I was given a Finger ring for pins and recently glued a magnetic dot to it.  It worked and I’ve not lost a needle since.  :-)))

I will make a pocket on one end in case I need to store something.

Next to do is to add needle names to the fabric and make pockets to the rest.

 

Sharon’s  Hussif mini challenge begins next week and is open to everyone.   I like not having a finish date for making the Hussif – it takes away any stress.

For any questions about Work in Progress Wednesdays, please visit http://pintangle.com/wip-wednesdays-faq/

Responses

  1. I’m not going to stitch along with this hussif, but I’m looking forward to see what you create. And yes, magnets are very helpfull, there’s always one by my side when I’m stitching.

    • Thanks Annet. I’ll be happy to have your company during the project.

  2. You are well prepared. Magnets to keep track of the pins and needles are great.
    Will there be space for your hoop?
    One thing that I always include in my sewing box/bag is a small ‘dust bin’ for thread ends; if I sew in a friend’s house I don’t want to leave small clippings or stray threads. A small roll of sticky (cellophane) tape is also good to keep any fluff under control.

    • Thanks Queenie for the helpful hints. I’m always open to suggestions and as yet have not made a final decision for the hussif. I did lay aside a small hoop, then forgot to add it to the collection.

      So! A ‘dust bin’! Could that be a small draw-string bag holding the sticky tape? I presume tape would be circled inside out around a finger and dabbed on stray threads.
      I will surely add that one.

  3. Looking forward to see your hussif progress. Love Queenie’s idea ,how about adding a pocket to store a thread catcher (a folded one) ? You need some space to store the tape with threads stuck onto it and I am not sure whether you want to put that directly into a hussif pocket. Anyways it’s just my 2 cents worth thought.


Leave a Reply

Categories

trishburr.wordpress.com/

Insight into my work and inspirations

Patty Anne - Art

My Watercolor Journey

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

LucyAnn &Luna craft

crafting,dachshunds including other bits & bobs

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

