Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | April 20, 2014

Kantha SaL

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI am still working both my hand traced Kantha pattern and the one I printed.  It is all good practise.                The top photo is the traced one.  The lower is printed in each photo.

I filled the two top dots (showing on the right side) with Kantha filling stitch, using 2 strands of DMC black thread.

The 3 flowers used the tara booti stitch with 2 strands DMC purple.

The crown flower had Kantha filling stitch petals and this time I used 2 strands of Cottage Garden variegated thread.  I wasn’t sure that repeating the outer pink of the lower flower was right.. I thought it might be too heavy.

 

The green calyx has been done with Weaving or Stacked Kantha filling.

 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAA close up of the Crown and tara bootie flowers

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

and the lower black curlicues and green stem.  A very visible difference between the hand traced and printed silk fabric.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Responses

  1. Looks pretty! I agree with you about the pink for the bud. I think a lighter pink or variegated purple would also work .

    • Thank you Anita, I’m happy you agree. In future I will gather All my threads, before I begin stitching.

  2. Absolutely gorgeous Maureen – such a spectacular fish 🙂 x

    • Thanks Barbara.

  3. So lovely, Maureen. I’m happy to see this work.

    • Thank you JoWynn. I don’t think I will be happy unless I make a 3rd attempt at getting it right. It is all good practise.


Leave a Reply

Categories

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

LucyAnn &Luna craft

crafting,dachshunds including other bits & bobs

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

Welcome to My Blog

My Hobby Pursuits...

In the Ever After

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

