Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | February 13, 2014

Sharon’s stitches by number

I have long wanted a record of stitches and finally decided this is the year to make one.  I have been in  TAST 1, 2 and 3 groups and though I have lots of photos I have nothing that I can pick up easily to view a stitch.  Sometimes I have forgotten a stitch name, sometimes how to work a known stitch.

I have chosen to use Aida 14 count cloth and most likely will stick with Perle 8 threads.

When I have completed this project I will have stitched all TAST 4 samples that I missed last year.

I am working this from No. 1 stitch and to date have stitched 15.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA  Sharon’s stitch lessons are now up to 100.  Congratulations Sharon on teaching so many to learn new stitches.  I know it is much appreciated by all.

No 1.  Fly stitch

No 2. Buttonhole or blanket stitch

No 2 b.  An intruder.  This version is by Marion Scoular and is also called Tailor’s buttonhole.

No 3. Feather stitch

No 4. Cretan stitch

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERANo 5. Herringbone stitch

No 6, Chevron stitch

No 7. Detached Chain stitch

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

No 8. Chain stitch

No 9. Couching

No 10. Running stitch

No 11.  Whipped wheel

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERANo 12. Barred chain stitch

No 12 b. Alternating Barred chain

No 13. Satin stitch

No 14. Stem stitch

No 15. French Knots

 

Please visit Sharon’s TAST FAQs for more information.  The challenge is open to all – Beginners or Experts, where there are bound to be some stitches you have not tried.

Responses

  1. You have a deeper sense of commitment than I will ever have

  2. Apart from the sampler I have been stitching on, I felt I needed a ‘dictionary of stitches’. Last year I added the first 50 TAST stitches or so, then it became a UFO. I think this year I need to complete my personal TAST Stitch Dictionary’. You, too, Maureen, keep up the good work!

    • Hi Queenie, I’m working on TAST 2014, the Stitches by Number, Randje SAL and a Russian icon currently. When the daylight goes I can swap to the one of the 1st 3.
      I finished my icon today and mail it next month but it may be another 2 months before it’s posted. Mail to Russia can be very slow.
      I will try to do all the numbered stitches this year.


Leave a Reply

Categories

trishburr.wordpress.com/

Insight into my work and inspirations

Patty Anne - Art

My Watercolor Journey

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

LucyAnn &Luna craft

crafting,dachshunds including other bits & bobs

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

