Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | February 1, 2014

A slow start to the New Year- and TAST 2014

I have begun the year by trying to work ahead on several projects so, busily stitching, I haven’t uploaded anything much to Flickr and nothing at all here.

I missed the fun of the TAST stitching during 2013 and hope to catch up with that through the year.  In the meantime here are this year’s TAST stitches.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA I will be using a 14 count Aida for the stitches and 8 perle threads.  The top row is Linked Chain (No.95) in yellow and the Beaded version (No.96) is done with tan thread and gold metal cylinders.  The stitch was easy and looks good.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Now comes the comedy of errors.

The work is rotated as it looks better long ways.  So the work reads from right to left.

I began with the plain yellow row (No. 97) Shell Chain. and misread the instructions and have the right side  with a hole between threads, instead of next to the first hole.

Then came the correct pink row

The first Beaded Shell Chain (No. 98) pink row is wrong, as I had returned to the extra hole between and the beads would not stay where they were meant to be.

The pink rows you will notice all have the right side ‘open’.  Guess I was just enjoying the rhythm of the needle and thread and kept making the same mistake. (I’ve heard there is no real error in stitching…sounds good to me)

The 2nd pink row I decided to place the bead on the left of the chain stitch and it sits really firmly with no slipping.  I like this.

The 3rd pink row has 2 beads and at the lower section I skipped the beads to see how it would look.

Last pink row I alternated and think it would work well as seaweed or curved along a seam.

I redid the yellow row with no extra hole between- on the far left.  The difference between these samples is only one hole between the chain and the beaded thread but on the close version the bead sits better.

Next TAST stitch I hope to read and execute correctly. grin…

for further information about TAST, which is for beginner or expert alike, please visit http://pintangle.com/tast-faq/

Responses

  1. I do like this stitch, and have never even heard of it(as named anyway) I like the one with the sea weedy effect very much!

  2. Relief! I see I am in good company; I misread the instructions and made exactly the same ‘mistake’, too. Good to know there are no real errors in stitching!!!

    • Hi Queenie, good to ‘see’ you. My concentration is off the mark this week and the latest Tast is not going right either. Bit more play needed before I post it. It looks so simple too.

  3. Thanks to Queenie I came to your site to admire your versions and I love all of them – They are looking neat. It is interesting that you made the same I don’t want to call them ‘error’ stitches as Queenie but another interpretation, charming.

    • Thank you for stopping by anaslua. I appreciate your comment.


Leave a Reply

Categories

LucyAnn &Luna craft

crafting,dachshunds including other bits & bobs

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

Welcome to My Blog

My Hobby Pursuits...

In the Ever After

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

KenMaursCorner

My personal slant on my attempts at creative stitching,my garden,my feline family and the odd(very odd) comment on Life in general)

