Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | October 21, 2012

TAST 3, week 42, Italian Knotted border

This is a very nice stitch to work.  I used Perle 8 yellow and stitched into the same holes for most of the pattern. If you imagine a Fly stitch between A, B and  C then make the knot, I then make an upside down Fly stitch coming up at C, down at D and up at B, finishing with another knot.

I did a few versions of this method in Blue and dark green wool, both doubled and single. In the bottom right sample I moved the ‘C’ stitch to come up directly below ‘A’.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A few more samples .  I liked the little flower.  That figure 2 developed without any plan.  grin….. I began, by thinking of a waterlily.  There are knots along the sloped section but are covered by the slanting threads.

I hope to try the stitch with some darker threads and gold metallics to see how it would look as a Renaissance border

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is part of my CQJP November block.  A tan perle 12 thread seam and green DMC with 3 threads around the Battenburg lace flower.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

If anyone wishes to find out more about TAST= Take A Stitch Tuesday,  please visit  here

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Responses

  1. Great idea using the stitch as an outline for the flower !!!! well done.

  2. You’ve made a lot of beautiful combinations. It is an easy stitch and yet I have seen so many wonderful ways of using it. Great fun, isn’t it?

  3. Lots of variety with this stitch. I like the outline of the flower too.

  4. Love the lace flower border!

  5. Ooh love the stitch Maureen and your gorgeous samples 🙂
    x

  6. Thanks to everyone for the comments, which are much appreciated. I agree it was fun to use the simple stitch and I hope to do more with it later.

  7. Thank you for visiting my blog and your nice comment!
    This stitch is very versatile, isn’t it?

  8. i like that thistle like flower~!
    wonderful examples of what this stitch is capable of.

    🙂
    libbyQ

    • Thanks Libby. There are many fabulous examples from others this week.


Leave a Reply

Categories

trishburr.wordpress.com/

Insight into my work and inspirations

Patty Anne - Art

My Watercolor Journey

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

LucyAnn &Luna craft

crafting,dachshunds including other bits & bobs

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

