Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | October 4, 2012

Tast 3 week 40, Beaded Hedebo edge

I used one of Sharon’s Friday Freebie designs to see how the stitch would work on curves.

I liked it when I did the 2 strand green DMC sections.  I had to add the beads by hand as the needle wouldn’t pass through.

The buds/flowers? were a little harder as the pattern was curved both in and out and my stitches tended to veer away from the lines                                                                                                            You can see some black print underneath.  The buds were stitched with crochet thread, about perle 12 thickness and the beads                                                                                                                         are thick with large holes so the needle could pass through.     I prefer the smaller beads as they sit better.

 

 

 

 

 

 

These examples worked on Aida cloth were from Tast 2, week 3

 

 

 

 

 

 

If you wish to learn about TAST-Take A Stitch Tuesday, please visit http://pintangle.com/tast-faq/

 

 

Responses

  1. Sharon has some lovely free designs. You challenged yourself with a difficult one; those curves of the buds that go both in and out.
    I DO LOVE the purple filling you made for TAST2. How did you make the red ones join in the centre? Wonderful work!!!

    • Queenie that is a good question. I’ve forgotten, so I’ll have to check the original.
      It appears that I made 4 cast-ons and caught them together in the centre of the square. I added the blue bead in one square.

  2. A really pretty stitch and your samples are gorgeous Maureen 🙂
    x

    • Thank you Barbara

  3. You really have some creative samples in your two images. I think the purple is my favorite also. I had the same issue with the needle going through the beads. I used larger beads, I believe they are 6º. I’m anxious to see how others dealt with this.

    • Thank you Connie.I like the purple best also.
      I had to test quite a few beads before choosing one sort.

  4. Your hedebo stitching looks great. Haven’t tried it yet but hope to have a go at it this evening.

    • Thank you Jeanette. working on Aida first time was easier.

  5. What a lot of stitching, must have taken quite a while to do it all and it looks great! I had trouble with the needle going through the beads too, so like Connie, I found some bigger ones.

    • Thank you ljcillustration. surprisingly it did not take as long to do the new one as I thought it might.

  6. wonderful samples of this stitch. very inspiring .
    Chitra

    • Thank you Chitra, I look forward to seeing your samples.

  7. beautiful friday freebie and your samples are so well done

    • Thank you Severine.

  8. You’ve stitched a wonderful sampler again.My favorite is the circle with butterfly(?) beads.Well done Maureen!

  9. These are gorgeous designs for this stitch Maureen.

    • To be honest Maggie, I feel I was better the first time around with the stitch. Working on Aida cloth is a big help and the curves of the new design was tricky.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Patty Anne - Art

My Watercolor Journey

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

LucyAnn &Luna craft

crafting,dachshunds including other bits & bobs

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

Welcome to My Blog

My Hobby Pursuits...

