Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | September 16, 2012

TAST 3, week 37 -Pistil stitch

I used 7mm silk ribbon and twisted the ribbon before ending with a loose Pistil stitch.

The stem is whipped chain and the leaves – Pistil stitch  I used DMC rayon floss here.

Playing with  pistil stitches.  Back to back, angled Pistil stitches woven with wool on one side and chenille thread on the other.

I made straight stitches babk to back and then couched with Coral stitch, pulling the stem in one direction.
The 4 stitches on the bottom left is pulled in the opposite direction to see how it would look.
Pistil flower, Spider whipped flower and fans of the stitch.

More angled versions

For the fan I used a 4mm silk ribbon, surrounded by a green fine silk thread of Fly stitches.

The flower began as an experiment for a lotus leaf but before I knew it I had included French knots stamen centre.  I had thought of a waterlily centre.

There is more information about TAST – Take A Stitch Tuesday here

it is for Novice or Experienced Stitchers.

Responses

  1. I especially love your pistil stitches’ leaves, they are great !

    • Thank you for liking the work

  2. Once again, Maureen, you share with the rest of us all your clever ideas. I love the twisted ribbon pistils and the fan is really elegant.

    • Thank you Queenie, you boost my morale always.

  3. Beautiful stitching and lots of variations. I love your flowers.

    • Thank you Raphaela

  4. Beautiful!!! Some great ideas. I particularly Luke the ‘water lily’ flower.

    • Thank you Marilyn. I found the flower easy to make. I’m pleased it is liked.

  5. I love this stitch Maureen and your samples are wonderful, especially the ribbon flower….so pretty 🙂
    x

    • Thank you Barbara. I am happy you like them.

  6. very beautiful!! especially first and last one in green!!..

    • Thank you very much Lakshmi, for liking them. The middle lot were not so good but were testing the stitch.

  7. Lovely variations .I like the green flower because I think different stitch length adds more beauty to this stitch…

    • Thank you Anita. I agree the different length of stitch makes it nicer.

  8. Lovely samples, I particularly like the ribbon flower.

    • Thank you very much Ljcillustration. It was fun to make.

  9. Love the ribbon flower! Fun to see the yellow pistil stitches, I doodled something like this in my journal a few hours ago.

    • Thank you also Annet. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

Welcome to My Blog

My Hobby Pursuits...

In the Ever After

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

KenMaursCorner

My personal slant on my attempts at creative stitching,my garden,my feline family and the odd(very odd) comment on Life in general)

Susan Hook's embroidery and crafts

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

