Posted by: Crazyqstitcher | August 18, 2012

TAST 3, Week 33 – Pekinese stitch

This was made earlier for a DYOB (Doing Your Own Block) in the Chainsofhearts group

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

In TAST 1- 2007 I blogged about my Pekinese stitch here but with a different camera and better photos I am adding close ups here.

If you run the mouse over the photos they are named.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I have used this stich often as it is so easy to do and always looks good.

This is my current Pekinese work.

Inspired by a picture in the same book as the above, I began at the top left with a single row of running stitch  using a single thread similar to Flower thread or Sassa Lynne,   then wove a single Green DMC thread.

At the second bend I added another strand for the rest of that section.

Below the flower box I used 2 rows of running stitch and 3 strands of DMC, tapering off at the right end to one strand.

The exercise is really about Pekinese stitch.  I aimed for seeing how well it curved.   I had no bother with small bends………but I just couldn’t resist adding the flowers.

Thanks Sharon for choosing the stitch again.

 

For more about TAST please visit http://pintangle.com/tast-faq/   This is an excellent site to encourage Beginners as well as the more experienced people.

Responses

  1. All your samples are so beautiful Maureen 🙂
    x

    • Thanks Barbara.

  2. So lovely!

    • Thank you

  3. I LOVE the last one, Green Ribbon!

    • Thank you Julie

  4. Your Pekinese Green Ribbon work is exceptional! Really gorgeous!!!

    • Thank you very much Julie

  5. I had to come back to tell you how pretty that pink heart is too! I just posted my attemp on my blog @ http://asucculentlife.blogspot.com/2012/08/tast-pekinese-stitch.html
    Have a wonderful day!

    • I have checked out your Pekinese stitching and love it. I hope others have a peek too.

  6. wow, this work is amazing, I so love the bottom one, its so unique and beautiful…

    • Thanks Sandie 🙂

  7. You do amazing stitching Maureen, always enjoy popping in for a looky!


Leave a Reply

Categories

thecraftycreek

Making and creating

LucyAnn &Luna craft

crafting,dachshunds including other bits & bobs

Jizee6687's Weblog

on hand embroidery journey

CrazyQstitcher

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Rabbit Girl Crafts

cross-stitch. needlework. books.

StringThings Winnipeg

Zen and the Art of String: Weaving, Spinning, Embroidery, Crochet and More

sooner or later

everyone will be blogging

Tenar's cave

Tenar's mumblings about all things creative

DesertSky Quilting

From Scraps to Quilts

karensstitchography

Embroidery & other craft

artisticfingers

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Fat-Quarter

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

Queenie's Needlework

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

More Cold Tea!

Too busy stitchin...............

Welcome to My Blog

My Hobby Pursuits...

In the Ever After

A place to share with others - my love of needlework and Crazy Quilting which my daughter introduced me into some time ago.

